Off the Mat. Out of the Water. From the Sea to the City.

In an earlier post, I mentioned that I have recently just come back again to the mat after such a long time.

And I’m telling you….

The more often I practice on the mat, the deeper my practice becomes, the more often also that I find myself outside the mat facing situations and circumstances that are inviting me, challenging me to put into practice what I practice on the mat, whew! 😮

I know. It is the very purpose of having a practice.

How well am I able to apply my practice outside the mat? How easily am I able to flow with the tides and ride the waves of Life and its turbulence when I’m out of the water?

If I’m able to carry out a ‘great’ practice on the mat and swim and flow effortlessly in the sea but not anywhere outside of those two environments, how good a practice is that? Is that even a practice?

Isn’t that just learning the concept, memorizing the formula, knowing something intellectually but not being able to apply them in the ‘real world?’ How effective a learning is that?

I’m slowly coming to terms with the fact that it is one reason I was removed from the seaside. Just one reason, though. Not the only one, I insist, lest I’ll have my argument with the Universe once more! 😉  Another one of the many that we’ve been having…. 😉

Truth be told, I continue to feel so miserable being so far away from the water — and a natural setting in general.

There’s a part of me, a huge part of me that continues to question and feel frustrated not only with living in the city but in the community where I’m at — and for the right reasons which I’ll most likely talk about in another post after integrating my thoughts, experiences and insights.

And I sure am not going to be in denial of the reality of my situation, of how frustrated, miserable and distressed I’ve been, lest I’ll fall under the trap of feigned positivity. One of the many misguided and false ‘New Age’ teachings. 😮

Having said that, though, I’m doing as best I can to take conscious steps to help me be less angry and frustrated and more at peace with my oh-so-far-from-ideal-and-so-misaligned-from-my-energies-and-preferences living situation.

How?

By shifting my perspective and seeing this as the Universe’ gift to me. As I wrote in my previous post, it is one of the messages of The Hanged Man via appearance of Bat.

I’m telling myself, painstakingly convincing myself that the Universe is now giving — gifting — me with the chance to apply the formula in ‘live’ scenarios. To use what I learned in the water outside of it. To make my practice of yoga more encompassing and not solely physical.

And that is one measurement of how much I have learned. If I have, in fact, learned.

Off the mat. Out of the water. From the Sea to the City.

The sea was my classroom. The mat my laboratory.

And the city is where I’m now having my practicum. 🙂

But not for long, I hope. I pray. I fervently pray. On bended knees. And with much humility and unquestioning obedience.

Because I’ll be very blunt.

I most certainly would much rather be back in my ‘classroom’! Hands down. Anytime. All the time. Any opportunity I’ll have. Any opportunity my ‘mermaid tail’ could have.

Just being truthful and transparent and putting it out there!!! 😉

❤ ⭐ 😀 ⭐ ❤

Copyright © 2011-2016 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing, where I share my thoughts and reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...♥♥♥Nadine Marie♥♥♥
This entry was posted in Environment, Healing, Inspiration, journey, Mother Earth, Spirituality, Travel, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Off the Mat. Out of the Water. From the Sea to the City.

  1. candidkay says:

    As I read this, I feel your longing for the sea. I am hoping you can return to it soon. When you feel a pull that strongly toward something, I think it’s your soul’s desire.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am still in on “feigned positivity” “fake it till you make it.” I mean yeah sometimes life blows then I remember I created it. Being positive certainly feels better than the negative fear based nonsense I run in my head when I am scared, or unhappy. So even though I often live by the river denial, I think I prefer it to the pond of fearful disillusion. No? 😉 ❤

    Like

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

