Mystery or Deception?

Image Source: http://armene.deviantart.com/ ©2009-2014 Olga Zavershinskaya www.armene.com

Image Source: http://armene.deviantart.com/ ©2009-2014 Olga Zavershinskaya http://www.armene.com

This image caught my attention. I was intrigued. I found it mysterious.

There was also a part of me questioning, ‘Is it really mystery that’s being depicted?’

The truth is, something felt ‘dark’ about the image. Something deceitful. As if the lady is hiding something. Hiding from something. Masking. Covering up.

Why is she covering her eyes? What is she hiding? The eyes are the windows to the soul. Covering her eyes blocks others from seeing through and into her soul. What is she keeping away from others to see?

I dismissed such thoughts. I even judged myself as being ‘negative.’ Seeing the glass ‘half-empty’ instead of ‘half-full.’

I was inspired to compose a poem about it. The theme?  Mystery, what else.

However, for some reason unbeknownst to me — then — I didn’t feel right about publishing it. Interestingly also, it took me a considerably long time to finish writing it. Somehow, something just didn’t feel quite right. It [mystery] wasn’t what I truly felt about the image, but I wanted to deliver a ‘positive’ and uplifting message.

Until now, I still don’t feel like publishing it.

And now I know why.

Deception. Lies. Manipulation. Betrayal.

A recurring theme for me that’s become even more pronounced this year.

Image Source: http://elev8.com/

Image Source: http://elev8.com/

Trust. My core issue.

In psychologist and psychoanalyst Erik Erikson’s stages of psycho-social development, someone who is severely wounded during the infancy stage will have trust as a core issue later in adult life. And it has certainly been my major issue. Trusting myself and others.

Trust vs. Mistrust. Lack of trust. Overly trusting. Gullibility.

They all fall on the same spectrum, and my lesson is finding the balance — through the art and skill of discernment.

Over the years, I have crossed paths with numerous individuals who would be my teachers-in-disguise with regard to trusting. Some have the most dubious and suspicious of intentions, and I certainly have fallen into the trap many times over!

Not too long ago, I encountered an individual who has just started the ascension path. This person had an awakening and is experiencing huge shifts and transitions necessitating spiritual guidance. A mentor. And I would become a convenient and easy ‘target.’

Much kindness and generosity was extended to me for which I am most certainly appreciative. Something though felt not quite right about our interactions and the goodness accorded me. A sucking of my energies. The energy of desperation was seeping through the silent but piercing cry for help — not to say that it is indeed a much valid and very real plea for help.

I began to feel the imbalance in the exchange of our energies. The lack of fairness in the energy exchange  — with me doing all the ‘giving,’ the other, merely the ‘taking,’ — is an all too familiar scenario to me. An habitual theme. A pattern.

Such behavior by the other of only ‘taking’ without any ‘giving‘ may be unintentional or unconscious. The other person may not even be aware of it, but that doesn’t make such ill-intentioned and self-serving behavior more permissible.

Last night, I came across Sue Dreamwalker’s post that included an image of an owl, a lovely work of love. I didn’t give Owl’s appearance any meaning.

Immediately after reading her post though, I was moved to consult Colette Baron-Reid’s oracle cards about how to move forward with my situation with this individual (and others who are in a similar predicament as I have been magnetizing them of late.)

The card I picked?

13-owl

  Deception, Wisdom

“The Owl lends you eyes that you need in order to see in the dark around you. The Owl can cut through the shadows to illuminate the real truth. Someone may be trying to camouflage his or her real intentions. Deceit, lies, and unclear intentions are exposed with Owl energy. The Owl also reminds you to be honest with yourself and snap out of any lies or denial inside you. Lying to yourself is the way that you’ll remain lost in a prison of your own making. The Owl appears to ask you to seek the truth in the darkest places within yourself. This will set you free and restore you to wholeness. All is well with the Owl to guide you. Deep wisdom into human nature is gained through the ability to recognize untruths. This is an important marker on your path.’

Now, that certainly got my attention! Light bulb moment! What was hidden came to light.

The image of the ‘mystery lady’ wasn’t delivering a message of mystery.  It was speaking of deceptionManipulation. I had already heard that from my inner voice, but I chose to ignore it — again!

Through the years, I cannot count the number of times when I felt and sensed the dubiousness and deviousness in an individual, but I often chose to dismiss it. I opted to see only the innate goodness in everyone.

How could I think that someone can be that dubious and cunning? How could I even think that about them? Such scheming ways are not part of my make-up, so it’s difficult for me to imagine it in others.

But doesn’t it “take one to know one?” Believe me, countless are the times when I’ve gone back and forth with that. Might I not be the one with the ‘evil’ thoughts, thinking ill of the other?

Gullibility is at the extreme end of the trust spectrum, remember?

Thanks to OWL though, as the oracle card says,

“Deep wisdom into human nature is gained through the ability to recognize untruths.”

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2014 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing, where I share my thoughts and reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...♥♥♥Nadine Marie♥♥♥
This entry was posted in Consciousness & Awareness, Relationships, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Mystery or Deception?

  1. Betsy says:

    WOW…I love this post…and everything you have posted since I subscribed to your blog. Honestly, I don’t usually subscribe to blogs but I read your Chiron Return post a few weeks ago and checked one the boxes below, not knowing I was subscribing…but now I am so glad!

    I have had very similar issues as you…TRUST is a major one…not believing (or not wanting to listen to) the signals my own intuition is sending me…loud and clear…

    This “mystery” photo above is a bit creepy for me at the moment too…this young girl does not, for me, hold the energy of mystery. She looks/feels too young. Yes, she has a big black hat and dark red lipstick but does not hold the true energy of mystery. (here my mind will quote A Course in Miracles and say “I give everything all the meaning it has for me” ..c’mon Betsy, it’s just your projection onto this photo. The photo itself has NO meaning. get off it! You think too much!” ).

    Anyway…your explorations of this are very helpful today as I am in the midddle of a Chiron return, leaving a relationship that was laden with things I did not want to see….but now I am starting to admit what I knew all along. Your post helps me stay resolved to stay away, keep the focus on ME.

    I could say so much more but for now I will just say thank you Nadine Marie!
    ~Betsy

    Like

    • You’re most welcome Betsy! I’m happy this post has helped you with your situation. I believe we all have been there at one point in our lives — staying in a relationship while turning a deaf ear and a blind eye, but, as you have realized and are realizing, we’re only prolonging the agony. The end of a relationship is never easy. Grieving and healing will take however long it needs to take.

      Thank you for “accidentally” subscribing to my site :-). I am a firm believer that there is no such thing as an “accident.” Your soul/Higher Self must have prodded you to subscribe because you are to gain something from this site, such as what I just shared in this post. It may also not only from what I’m sharing but may also be from comments from other readers. And you can choose to stay on for as long as you feel this site is serving you, and move on when it’s time.

      Chiron Return….I just read that post that you’re referring to and realized that I hadn’t responded to you. My apologies. And I will, as soon as I’m done with this.

      Thanks again Betsy for subscribing to this site, and thank you for sharing your experiences and reflections here.

      Infinite Blessings…Namaste,
      ❤ ❤ ❤ NadineMarie ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

  2. Hi Nadine,
    The middle of this posting where you write about “energy exchange” and “giving” and “taking,” reminded me of the following quote…
    “Givers have to set limits because takers rarely do.” – Henry Ford

    I’ve had my share of this kind of imbalance in my life. You want to be kind; but you don’t want to enable bad behavior on the part of others, or be taken for granted.

    A lesson I have to keep relearning. Thanks.

    Like

    • I love that quote by Henry Ford! So true and so much wisdom! Thank you for sharing that. 🙂

      I believe there are several of us who are mastering this lesson, and the key (and the challenge) is to find the balance. As you said, we want to be kind but we don’t want to be enablers that we are taken for granted and our kindness is not only unappreciated but even abused.

      Thanks again for stopping by and sharing your own insights and reflections! 🙂

      Infinite Blessings…Namaste,
      ❤ ❤ ❤ NadineMarie ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

  3. Pingback: Owl Medicine — Discernment and Wisdom | Aligning With Truth

  4. Pingback: When OWL Appears | Aligning With Truth

  5. Thank you NadineMarie for including a link to my post.. I am smiling at how synchronisity works and how we are always given ‘Signs’ yet often can overlook them.. Like you I know how those who are what I term Psychic Vampires.. They gain trust and then suck your energy.. Met a few of those along my journey… Now is my time.. and I am at last learning to go within my own flow of energy… Creating, painting, knitting, writing, reading.. cooking… gardening…
    I have always meditated, but always I have given, both in friendships and in work situations putting myself last in the line.. Now its time to be me, and please myself more.. I hope the Owl wisdom is also teaching you to be wiser .. And stop pulling yourself down… Those emotions are what we have long been conditioned with.. ( I know I have right from childhood, I was felt to be unworthy). So no not always does it take one to know one.. It takes wisdom in recognising the traits of others… And learning to step back and out of their emotional blackmail..
    Bless you..
    Sue

    Like

    • You’re most welcome Sue. Synchronicities certainly are a source of my joy! 🙂

      Psychic Vampires/Energy Vampires. They sure are out there, and yes, they are serving their purpose — and doing a very good job at that! 😀

      Like you Sue, I too have devoted my time and my life to taking care of me. As I wrote in my “About Nadine Marie” section,

      “During these intense transitional periods and shifts though, while she is in what Karen Bishop refers to as the “in-between phase of the ascension process,” Nadine Marie is devoting her time to self-care and self-healing and is not offering any of her services. She continues to carry out her mission and contributes to the planetary and humanity’s ascension through writing and blogging, her beingness and living her light.”

      I certainly am gaining much wisdom, thanks to Owl — along with many other messengers that the Universe is constantly sending me. I’m often reminded to tap into my Inner Wise One, my Inner Chrone, the Divine in me, for the answers and the guidance. Of course, as part of the human experience, we forget and need reminders along the way. But, as I’m sure you also know, it isn’t the destination; It’s the journey. And what a journey it certainly has been!

      Takes one to know one” is only one of the many limiting and false teachings to which I’ve subscribed. I was paralyzed by such fear-based beliefs, some, many of which stem back not only from childhood but even past lives. I have just gotten out of my most pivotal Chiron Return astrological phase that took place last year and which I’ve written about here extensively. There are still residuals because of the Chiron retrogrades.

      “Chiron Return is the time when Chiron (the Wounded Healer) goes back to its original position in our natal chart. We wrap up the issues related to our core wound, and determine how healing from the wound can help others. In my natal chart, Chiron is in my fourth house — the house associated with our roots and origins, home base, family in general, childhood upbringing and the environment we were raised in, father image and relationship to the real father.”

      So yes, my conditioning is deeeeeep! My soul seems to have chosen to sign up for all the issues and wounds in this lifetime! Hopefully, to have them all cleared up — once and for all, yeah! 😀

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your own reflections Sue. Blessed be.
      ❤ ❤ ❤ NadineMarie ❤ ❤ ❤

      Like

  6. Pingback: Being Of Service — To Receivers And Not Takers | Aligning With Truth

  7. Neoma says:

    I absolutely loved this article and it really hit home for me! I feel like I have many similarities as you…I too struggle with others energies and will even get butterflies in my stomach when I sense an imbalance…I use to not know why I have these butterflies but I am learning to listen more and be honest with myself. When I am honest with myself, most of the time my butterflies will subside. I too have been seeing the owl lately in mediation that is very strong. Sometimes the image is so in my face it startles me…lol…but I do love my owl spirit and so happy I was able to read your articles on owls. I feel that in my quest to learn more about my owl guide, he led me to your articles which have been very insightful/helpful. Thank you so much for sharing and much happiness on your spiritual journey! Bless!

    Like

    • You’re most welcome Neoma! I’m so glad Owl led you to this site/article. 🙂 Interestingly, I, too, have been led back to this article when I was notified of your comment. I also needed to hear this message again from Owl. It is a fascinating journey, eh?

      Thank you for your well wishes Neoma. You too…..Much Joy to you too! Blessed be. 😀 ⭐ ❤ ⭐ 😀

      Like

  8. Pingback: Of Friendships And Betrayal | Aligning With Truth

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

