Spider Medicine

I dreamt of SPIDER last night. I was awoken by the vision of a tarantula landing right smack on my face!

A black tarantula. All black. Jet black. Hairy. Very hairy.

She felt very real that I can still feel her needle-like hair brushing against my skin even as I’m writing this now.

Scary? Not really.

I am an avid fan of animal medicine. So, I immediately knew that Spider has shown up to be a messenger, with the message being so in my face!

I immediately looked up Ted Andrews’ Animal-Speak: The Spiritual & Magical Powers of Creatures Great & Small.  What he wrote is, indeed, so in my face! A truly apt message for me, as I reflect on my calling and my passions. I’m going through a deep inquiry, awaiting clarity on what it is that truly brings me  joy.

I’ve been reflecting about my living options here at Sugar Beach vis-a-vis my life work.

Do I create my own private sanctuary for my own personal use only, or do I create instead, a shared space and make it available to others? You know, build some shape or form of my long-held-yet-recently-let-go-of dream of a healing center?

Or, do I concentrate instead on writing and focus all my time and energies on improving my craft, and continue to allow it to be my joyous creative outlet, effecting healing both in myself, as well as others, and eventually create even more financial independence for me?

Here’s what Ted wrote:

KEYNOTE: Creativity and the Weaving of Fate

The spider is the master weaver.

To the Native Americans Grandmother Spider kept and taught the mysteries of the past and how they were affecting the future. Spider reminds us to awaken our own sensibilities to be more creative in life.

Spider teaches you to maintain a balance—between past and future, physical and spiritual, male and female. Spider teaches you that everything you now do is weaving what you will encounter in the future. In the tarot deck is a card—The Wheel of Fortune. This is a card that has to do with rhythms—the rise and fall, the flow and flux. It is linked to the energies of honor and fame, and the sensitivities necessary to place ourselves within the rhythm of Nature. Meditation upon this card would be beneficial for anyone with the spider as a totem.

The spider awakens creative sensibilities. It weaves a web of intricate and subtle fabric, as if to remind us that the past always subtly influences the present and future. Often the webs will take a spiral shape, the traditional form of creativity and development. The spider found within the web reminds us that we are the center of our own world. The ancient mystery schools had one precept inscribed above their portals: “Know Thyself and Thou Shalt Know the Universe!” Spider reminds us that the world is woven around us. We are the keepers and the writers of our own destiny, weaving it like a web by our thoughts, feelings, and actions.

The spider, because of its characteristics, has come to be associated by mystics and in mythology with three predominant expressions of magic. The first is the magic and energy of creation. It is a symbol of creative power, reflected in its ability to spin a silken web. It is also associated with assertiveness of that creative force, of keeping the feminine energies of creation alive and strong.

The third predominant magic of the spider is associated with its spiral energy, the links with the past and the future. The spiral of the web, converging at a central point, is something to be meditated upon by those with this totem. Are you moving toward a central goal or are you scattered and going in multiple directions? Is everything staying focused? Are you becoming too involved and/or self-absorbed? Are you focusing on others’ accomplishments and not on your own? Are you developing resentment because of it—for yourself or them?

[…]To many, there was an alphabet even more primordial. It was formed by the geometric patterns and angles found within spider’s web. To many this was the first true alphabet. This is why spider is considered the teacher of language and the magic of writing. Those who weave magic with the written word probably have a spider totem.

The spider has long been associated with death and rebirth. Part of this may have to do with the fact that some female spiders will kill and eat the male after mating. Because it is constantly building and weaving new webs, it has also been a lunar symbol, with ties to the waxing and waning of the moon. For those with this totem, this pattern is a reminder to maintain balance and polarity in all aspects of life. Spider teaches that through polarity and balance creativity is stimulated.

Spiders are a combination of gentleness and strength, and they have learned to combine both for successful survival. This is an important lesson for those with this totem.

Most of their movement occurs in the dark, and they move into inaccessible areas. This reflects much about how to express the creative energies. Don’t be afraid to employ it in seemingly inaccessible corners. Weave your creative threads in the dark and then when the sun hits them, they will glisten with intricate beauty.

If spider has come into your life, ask yourself some important questions.

Are you not weaving your dreams and imaginings into reality? Are you not using your creative opportunities? Are you feeling closed in or stuck as if in a web? Do you need to pay attention to your balance and where you are walking in life? Are others out of balance around you? Do you need to write? Are you inspired to write or draw and not following through?

Remember that spider is the keeper of knowledge of the primordial alphabet. Spider can teach how to use the written language with power and creativity so that your words weave a web around those who would read them.”

Is that in my face or whatThank you Grandmother Spider for being a messenger and thank you Ted for the insights! 🙂

Related articles and links:

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2014 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Books, Dreams, Healing, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are welcomed and appreciated!

