Am I Being “Protected” or Am I Being Led & Guided? – My Reflections on Super Typhoon Haiyan

One week ago, we were frantically preparing for the much-anticipated, greatly feared super typhoon Haiyan, touted to be the strongest in history.

One month ago, we were caught unaware by the 7.2 magnitude earthquake in Bohol.

I live on top of a cliff on the island of Siquijor in the Visayas Region, the same region where these two recent Philippines catastrophic disasters happened.

Admittedly, both occasions brought up fear in me. I’m not going to deny that.

Fear before the typhoon. Fear after the earthquake.

Fear in anticipation of the strength of the winds and rains of Haiyan. The destruction. The extent of the damage.

Fear in anticipation of a possible tsunami after the earthquake.  Of the aftershocks lasting several days only reinforced the fear — real or imagined.

I’m not going to pretend that my faith is so strong, that I have complete trust, that I’m so filled with love and light, vibrating at such a high frequency, that nothing fazes me.

Puhlease…..

Manifesting my geographical island home on Earth

These two catastrophes are doing exactly that. Teaching me precisely that. To strengthen my trust. Deepen my faith. That I’m being guided and led every step of the way, every moment of the day — especially as I go through my process of manifesting my geographical island home on Earth.

If you’ve been following this blog for at least a year now, you may have read about my search for my geographical home on earth. In fact, it was exactly a year ago, in the month of November,  when I first posted about my dilemma — of unhappily residing in Manila, a situation which started in 2010, not long after I landed in Manila after my four-year sojourn in Northern California.

At the time, the future looked so gloomy. I haven’t read again what I posted until now. Oh, I sounded so miserable!  Even angry. Because I was. I was very angry. Feeling so hopeless.

Back then, it was  the tragedy that is Sandy which had recently hit Eastern U. S. that brought my predicament once more to the surface. It moved me to finally post about my miserable living situation.

Now, Haiyan is doing the same. Except that now, I’m so full of hope and optimism.

Bohol, the region hit by the October earthquake. Samar, the region hit by Haiyan. The two islands that I had considered relocating to.

Choosing Samar was primarily a result of an astrological relocation consultation. It was the first time I heard of such a tool. Based on our natal chart, there are locations that are supposed to be best suited for our energies, soul purpose and growth.

In early October, I was already re-evaluating my living situation here on the island of Siquijor and looking at other options. I already discounted Bohol earlier. Upon someone’s suggestion, I started reconsidering it.

Without going into the details, both Samar and Bohol just didn’t feel right.

Not long after, within a week after both places formed part of my “Islands That Aren’t For Me” list, the strong earthquake hit Bohol. Less than a month after, Haiyan hit Samar.

Hmmmm…..

Without meaning to sound selfish and uncaring, especially to those who severely suffered from the damage of the earthquake and the typhoon, I’m so fascinated, and truly grateful, how I‘ve been guided and led all along — guided and led away from the places which aren’t for me.

Had I chosen, ok, forced myself to these places, and vice versa, as what I had initially done, especially during the initial stages of my search, I may have ended up as one of those “victims.” Or I may have also been spared. One of the “fortunate survivors.” Maybe.

Either way, I don’t want to look at it as being “fortunate” and protected by the Universe.

I’d rather see it as being led to where I’m supposed to be. Guided to where, prior to my incarnation, my soul has chosen for me to be in during this lifetime — especially during significant moments and pivotal episodes.

Stay away from coastal areas

In an earlier post, Weather Disturbances: Cleansing of Mother Earth, I included an excerpt from Diane Cooper’s 2012 and Beyond: An Invitation to Meet the Challenges and Opportunities AheadShe talks about precisely that — how our souls choose to be during these weather disturbances.

Santelmo Cove, Hamilo Coast, Philippines ©YangMinLi Image Source: http://www.flickr.com/

Santelmo Cove, Hamilo Coast, Philippines ©YangMinLi Image Source: http://www.flickr.com/

There’s a channeller of the messages of the Masters of the Great Brotherhood of Light who’s been visiting the Philippines quite regularly, granting interviews, giving talks and seminars, prophecies and warnings about such weather disturbances, among others.

His suggestion is clear and straightforward —

Stay away from coastal areas; Relocate and stay on higher grounds, preferably on the mountains.

For a while, I believed what he said. I started to have my own doubts. My own worries, fear and uncertainty were being magnified. I considered heeding his call.

Do I really want to live on an island, right by the water, knowing fully well, as this person has been prophesying, that the coastal areas aren’t safe? Am I bringing myself closer to my own death?

Over time, I gained clarity. I followed my inner authority, thankfully.

Look, the Philippines is made up of 7,100 islands. Is he actually insinuating that the more than 100 million Filipinos all converge atop the mountains?  Now that would certainly trigger another catastrophe, wouldn’t it? Of course I’m exaggerating. Yes, I’m being sarcastic about what he’s suggesting, which I can only respect, but I think you get what I’m getting at.

I am where I’m supposed to be

I’ve become so much clearer that swimming daily in the sea is very healing for me. It is essential for my well-being.

I’m choosing to live on an island because I want and need to be able to do exactly that — swim. It brings me so much joy!

Had I blindly followed the words of this “expert,” I would have been so miserable living away from the sea, not being able to be in the water and take a swim.

My experiences on the islands of Camiguin and Siquijor have already proven that. (I lived on the island of Camiguin during the first half of the year; I’ve been living on the island of Siquijor since June but I’ll be leaving next month for another island destination. Siquijor, together with Camiguin, Bohol, Samar plus a few others, join my list of “Islands That Aren’t For Me.”)

And these two recent disasters, especially Haiyan, reminded me of this and made me embrace it even more —

On certain predestined times of cleansing and purification, in the form of weather disturbances, I AM and will be where I am supposed to be.

If I “have a soul contract to pass over into the light [and] take the negativity to the higher realms for transmutation,” then I will be in the exact place where the purification will happen. Or I will be led away from it if my soul contract specifies so.

I will be in the pre-destined place during the pre-destined time during these changes — be it weather disturbances, or other ways and methods of shifts and transitions.

I could be one of those actually taking the negativity and dense energy.

Or, I could merely be a spectator, praying, performing distant healing, sending loving thoughts, holding the energetic space for the fear and worry to dissipate and be replaced with love and compassion. Just as I’ve done when Haiyan happened.

Either case, it is because it is what my soul has chosen. It is my soul contract.

When it’s time for me to go, I will go

As I reflect on these two major disasters, and how I could’ve been in both locations and on both occasions, and while I still haven’t manifested the island that would tell me, “Welcome home,” I do know that I am going to be led to it.

I AM being led; I AM being guided.

I also know that when it is the end of my soul’s earthly experience, the end it shall be. When it’s time for me to go, I will go. And I will go in the manner, at the place and time that my soul has chosen.

How do I know this for sure?

I don’t. I’m simply trusting, believing, and having faith.

That’s what I’m choosing to do. That’s what these recent catastrophes reminded me to do.

What more can one do, right?

After all, at the end of it all, at the end of the day, that’s all one can do anyway.

Related articles:

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing, where I share my thoughts and reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...♥♥♥Nadine Marie♥♥♥
This entry was posted in Consciousness & Awareness, Environment, Healing, Inspiration, Mother Earth, Spirituality, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Am I Being “Protected” or Am I Being Led & Guided? – My Reflections on Super Typhoon Haiyan

  1. Stay safe Nadine Marie….

    Like

  2. Pingback: Making Peace With the Community Within | Aligning With Truth

  3. Your messages are always enlightening – but this one is especially so. Thank you!
    Blessings, Love and Sparkles,
    Brenda

    Like

  4. Pingback: Coming Home to My Inner Family | Aligning With Truth

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

