Oriole: Weaving New Sunshine

Of the variety of bird species migrating at this time to this area in the mystical island of Siquijor in the Philippines, what has caught my attention for about a couple of months now is the oriole. Up until the writing of this post, I had no idea what type of bird it is.

I am so enchanted by the sound that it makes and the bright yellow color of its feathers. In fact, they’re serenading me as I’m editing this post.

What fascinated me even more is what I found out a few days ago from my landlady.

When she and her husband returned in early September from their seven-week-trip to Germany, her husband’s country of origin, they were quite surprised to find the orioles already here. And they’re here all the time, practically the whole day. A new behavior apparently — as it is usually in December when the orioles migrate to this area.

I actually started noticing these birds back in August, about six weeks after I arrived.

With their distinct and loud (but very pleasant) sound and bright yellow color, it’s hard to not notice them. They would either be on the guava tree by the left side of my cottage, or on top of the two tall neem trees on the right.

Are the bird seeds the culprit?

My landlady asked me if I’d been throwing out bird seeds.

I actually initially felt guilty because it has really been my practice wherever I travel. In fact, anywhere I go, I usually have a small pack of bird seeds with me that I keep in my purse.

For some reason though, I scattered bird seeds in this area only once.

I’ve hesitated doing so because it might only be the stray chickens — whose numbers have been increasing — who would feed on them. This was my experience when I was in the island of Camiguin. Not that I’m being selfish and don’t want to feed the chickens. But I want to attract birds, not chickens. Sure, chickens are birds but you get what I’m saying….

Thank you for the gift!

My landlady’s query though reminded me of another way with which I commune with Nature. Something I also haven’t done in a long time — scattering bird seeds not only to attract birds but more as a way of giving thanks for gifting me with their divine presence, and giving back to Nature for my countless blessings and gifts.

It is for this reason that I keep a small pack of bird seeds in my purse. I bring them not only for me to readily feed hungry birds that I encounter, but it’s also my way to say ‘thank you’ to the Universe.

Whenever I encounter or experience a blessing, big or small, even if there are no birds in sight, I scatter bird seeds while silently uttering, “Thank you for the gift!” and knowing that hungry birds will eventually find their way to the seeds. Or yes, maybe chickens, who knows.

Maybe they sense there’s someone here who understands and appreciates them,” my landlady is equally pleased upon hearing of my fascination with the “antulihaw,” Bisaya (a Filipino region) name of oriole; “Pirol” in German. She gives me these names to research as she herself doesn’t know their English name. I excitedly google while I joyously smile with the thought that the birds were “naturally” attracted to the area, without needing to be “bribed” with bird seeds! 🙂

During our conversation, it also dawned on me that it is the sound of the oriole that her charming one-and-a-half-year-old daughter has been imitating. A mysterious sound which has kept my landlady and I guessing — alright, we were speculating, accusing, judging other adults who dote on her daughter, for teaching such “absurd” sounds to our little princess. 🙂

The Little Golden One

Oriole is from the word aureolus, meaning “little golden one” in Latin, according to Ted Andrews, author of Animal-Speak: The Spiritual & Magical Powers of Creatures Great & Small.

He explains that “its clear, cheery song and bright colors are signs of new golden sunshine about to enter into your life.”

“Watch for sunshine to show up in any area of our life within a two-week period, mainly because the oriole eggs, usually four to six, hatch in two weeks. Pray and meditate with the oriole for any project in order to help it come to fruition or move along smoothly within a two-week period.”

The appearance of oriole may also mean positive signs and changes “or even new sunshine in the area of relationships, as the male is usually always close to the female oriole, reflecting that the bird is a harbinger of positive energy, blessing unions.”

I haven’t dated in a while, and I mean, a whiiiiiile — and relationships of romantic nature haven’t really been my focus or concern for quite sometime, so this is an interesting piece of news! Much welcomed, I will add. 😉

The colors are equally significant and symbolic.

“The colors of orange/yellow and black are colors associated with the nature spirits in traditional metaphysics. Specifically, they are the colors of the archangel Auriel who oversees all nature spirit activity upon the planet. The oriole can open doorways to positive relationships with all members of the nature realm.”

Nature has been one of my most significant teachers in recent years. I’ve been putting out the intention of working even more closely with all kinds of nature spirits, so this message is certainly very reassuring and encouraging.

The presence of an oriole or its nest in your home environment often indicates that the fairies and elves have drawn close or even moved into your home.” 

I had already felt the presence of fairies and elves in our midst from the first day that I set foot on this place in June. Maybe there’s an international fairy conference taking place and the orioles are doing an ocular inspection, so the fairies can turn my cottage into their bed-and-breakfast! 🙂

Image Source: http://birdnote.org/

Not only are most orioles eye-catching, but they also rank among the world’s most accomplished nest-builders. Caption and Image Source: http://birdnote.org/

The oriole is a weaver. Its nests are intricately woven, and it reflects an increasing ability to weave your life along new lines—ones that bring greater joy. The oriole will help you to weave new sunshine into any area of life you desire. It will help you to rediscover your own inner child and a renewed sense of joy in life.”

Nurturing and reparenting my inner child is a major part of my inner work. Maybe I’ve been neglecting her and I’m being reminded to spend more time with my little Nadine and dialogue with her. The sense of joy is also definitely something I most certainly welcome and appreciate!

The oriole weaves its nest from plant fibers to form a hanging nest, suspended from forked branches. The suspension reflects its ability to help you suspend time and space and reconnect with the inner sunshine of your soul. Forks and intersections are always places in which realms and dimensions intersect, creating doorways.”

How enchanting and exciting! These transition periods are really such exciting times! 🙂

Winged Enchantment

“Whether a hawk, an eagle or a tiny hummingbird, all birds awaken a sense of wonder and enchantment by their ability to fly. They remind us that we all can rise above our circumstances. They are the ultimate symbols of transcendence.” ~ Ted Andrews

References and related articles and links:

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Consciousness & Awareness, Environment, Healing, Mother Earth, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Oriole: Weaving New Sunshine

  1. Natalya says:

    That’s beautiful. You are so lucky to have such lovely (magical) birds around! 😀

    Like

  2. Quinn's Books says:

    Interesting how I have been led here. Sunshine bird… good sign indeed. Thank you Nadine!

    Like

  3. Blake H. Mauney says:

    I just saw the most stunning male Oriole while walking in the park here in Pennsylvania. The orange color was beyond brilliant and even the bird’s beak was bright orange. I have never seen another Oriole as lovely. I had to share. It truly was magical.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jaime Lyn McKenzie says:

    Beautiful❤️ Thank you for this. Thank you for sharing how you give thanks back to the Universe for all of the beautiful blessings. We are very blessed!

    The oriole was singing this evening and flew right by me. So I was blessed to get a good look and to hear the beautiful sound. I could see him standing out atop a tree. Then I could hear him behind me! Then he flew in front of me, then he was back in the tree. What a blessing.

    I am going to get bird seed and follow your thanksgiving tradition!

    Thanks again and blessings☀️

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re most welcome Jamie! 😀 It is my joy & pleasure to share! ❤ ☀️ ⭐

      And that is so magical to be serenaded and visited by Oriole! You are so blessed, and thank you for sharing that blessing here! ☀️☀️☀️

      And thank you for following my thanksgiving tradition! I'm humbled and honored. ❤ ❤ ❤

      Brightest of Blessings to you — be it through the sylphs or other nature spirits! ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

      Like

  5. Aruna says:

    Hi Nadine…I just chanced (?) upon this article because I was searching for any significance to the sighting of a golden oriole.
    I had never heard of this bird nor seen it.
    Until my birthday morning, i saw it perched on a tree outside my kitchen window in all its glory. In Pune, India.
    It was an unforgettable and amazing sight !
    Its been a month now and all of a sudden I had an urge to find out more about it and why i saw it on my birthday !!
    Loved your view and also the fact that you keep birdseeds with you always. I think that is awesome!

    Thanks once again!
    Aruna

    Like

Comments are welcomed and appreciated!

