Dancing Dragonflies

A couple of weeks ago, I was contemplating on whether this is in fact the place for me. This area, Sandugan. The island of Siquijor. A mystical island. The island of magic and healing in the Philippines.

The owner and I had a misunderstanding. It was a test of the friendship which was formed in the short period that we’d known each other. I’m so thankful we were able to iron it out quickly, respectfully, lovingly. Our misunderstanding in fact even strengthened our bond.

That’s what happens when both parties move beyond the 3D level of consciousness. When the individuals come from the heart space instead of being driven by their limiting, disempowering personality selves, conflicts and issues are easily resolved. No judgments and grudges. No resentments and sentiments. Forgiveness effortlessly takes place. Love and respect prevail. Peace and joy remain.

Interestingly, it is so different and quite the opposite of what I experienced with the owner of the cottage where I last stayed in the island of Camiguin. I posted about my experiences here.

And yes, I know it is my internal shifts which have created this new joyful reality for me.  Something for which I am grateful and appreciative!

Yet I am feeling sad because I need to move out of the cottage which I’ve considered my home for the past three months. I am resisting the idea. There’s a guest who had already made previous arrangements to occupy it from December until February.

Yesterday I continued my search. The couple who owns this lovely property so kind-heartedly accompanied me. We looked at some other possible cottages in the island for me to stay. Sadly, nothing comes close to how I feel in this cottage and what the area is offering.

The peace and quiet. The serenity. The freedom. Safety and security. The abundance. Spaciousness. The feeling of nurturance and nourishment. Relaxation and tranquility. Supportive and loving energies of the couple who owns the place and their adorable children living close by. They’re my family here. The resonance and alignment of our energies and values. The animal and plant kingdom. The marine life. The nearby marine sanctuary. And the list goes on.

Yes, the move is only temporary and it’s not as if I’m not coming back to live here again ever. And I know there are a number of lessons that I’m being reminded of. Nonattachment. Be open to the new. Surrender. Trust and believe.

And this morning, I wake up feeling a little bit sluggish. The thought of moving out, again, and soon is the first thing that comes to my mind. And I’m not particularly excited about the thought of moving. I’m not exactly looking forward to it.

My state of being is reflected back to me by my surrounding. It is a cloudy day and the sun’s rays barely peep through the clouds.

Yet as I raise the blinds, I am gently touched by the faint sunlight. It kisses my cheeks and brings a smile not only to my face but to every cell of my body. A glimmer of hope! A gentle reminder to be grateful for the simple joys of life and the gifts of Mother Earth.

I am seating in the veranda, gazing at the sea, having the first sip of my morning coffee, and I am greeted, unexpectedly, by the sight of dragonflies dancing! It is the first time this is happening to me in the three months that I’ve been here. I’ve seen them elsewhere in the 1.5 hectare property but not right in front of my cottage!

And not just a couple or even a dozen of dragonflies. Hundreds!

They move up and down.  They twist and turn. They hover. They fly backwards. I am being entertained by dancing faeries! 🙂

I step closer and look around and they’re all converging just right in front of my cottage!  I grab my camera to capture such a wonderful sight but they suddenly disperse!

Ahhh…I am to simply savor the moment and soak in its beauty and the gift of the experience. And I am to intently listen to what Dragonfly and the faeries want to convey to me.

“Dragonflies and damselflies inhabit two realms—water and air. The significance of these should be examined. In their early life—as a nymph—they live within the water. As they mature and go through their metamorphosis, they move to the realm of air. It is not unusual to find individuals with dragonfly totems to be very emotional and passionate in the early years, but as they get older, they learn to balance it with greater mental clarity and control. Sometimes it can indicate that the emotions have gotten shut down because of emotional issues in the early life. Remember that the dragonfly and damselfly are always found around water. There must be expressions of the emotional and the mental together.

If a dragonfly has shown up in your life, you may need some fresh air in regard to something emotional. You may need to gain a new perspective or make a change. It may even indicate that you are neglecting your emotions. Are you being too rational about everything? Are you not keeping the color of emotions alive?

Dragonflies are very territorial. They will lay their eggs within their territory near the water. The egg eventually develops into the nymph stage of metamorphosis in this insect, and remains as a nymph for almost two years before it transforms into an adult dragonfly or damselfly. This can reflect a number of possibilities for those with this totem. It can indicate that an approximate two-year period of change is about to reach its culmination. It may reflect that you are coming into a two-year period of transformation. It may even reflect a need to institute changes that may culminate in the colorful transformations you desire within a two-year period. Only by examining your life and activities will you begin to understand its specific role.

The dragonfly and damselfly reflect and work with the sun and light. The light changes throughout the day. The dragonfly and damselfly undergo their own transformations. If they have shown up, look for change to occur. Are you resisting change when you shouldn’t? Dragonflies remind us that we are light and can reflect the light in powerful ways if we choose to do so. “Let there be light” is the divine prompting to use the creative imagination as a force within your life. This is part of what dragonflies and damselflies teach us. Life is never quite the way it appears, but it is always filled with light and color. Dragonfly can help you to see through your illusions and thus allow your own light to shine forth. Dragonfly brings the brightness of transformation and the wonder of colorful new vision.”

Andrews, Ted (1996-09-01). Animal-Speak: The Spiritual & Magical Powers of Creatures Great & Small (p. 341). Llewellyn – A. Kindle Edition.

Related articles and links:

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing, where I share my thoughts and reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...♥♥♥Nadine Marie♥♥♥
This entry was posted in Consciousness & Awareness, Environment, Mother Earth, Spirituality, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dancing Dragonflies

  1. Pingback: Revisiting the past – Snake Medicine (Part 3) | Aligning With Truth

  2. Pingback: Capturing The Moment — Dragonflys, Samurai Of The Desert | Becoming is Superior to Being

  3. Pingback: Willow emerald damselfly video | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  4. Pingback: Learning and Mastering Lessons – What’s the Difference? | Aligning With Truth

  5. Pingback: Dragonfly – The Joy Of Freedom | Aligning With Truth

  6. Wow! Lucky! I would just be awestruck. The manner in which you wrote about the experience was just so poetic and magical. Thanks so much for sharing this with me/us. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Change Is Not Fearful | bluebutterfliesandme

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

