The Story Behind My Story – Snake Medicine (Part 2)

They were mean to me. They didn’t care much for how I felt. They hurt me. They didn’t respect me.

The voice is getting louder and louder. I want to run away but I am drowning in my own vast ocean of confusion.  My deep sea of negativity.

I silence the nasty words.

I’ve had enough. Go away. Please leave. Leave me. Leave me alone!

But I can’t drive it away. I shouldn’t. It’ll only get louder. It’ll only deepen the hurt.  It’ll only take longer for the pain to heal.

I feel stuck. I want to remove the blocks. I feel I’m getting caught in my own web. I am spiraling down the chasm of my own limiting beliefs and disempowering thoughts.

I am being run by my emotional body. My wounded little Nadine is acting out. I need to take better control of the situation. Time to reparent my inner child. To call in the Wise One within to guide me and to lead me out of this turmoil and chaos.

And then Snake shows up.

Snake’s message

Snake is a very powerful symbol for healing, alchemy and transformation. It is a universal belief held across various cultures. The symbol of death and rebirth. It is what the shedding of its skin stands for.

animalspeakTed Andrews, a foremost resource on animal medicine, explains in his book Animal-Speak: The Spiritual & Magical Powers of Creatures Great & Small,

To the Native Americans, the snake is a symbol of transformation and healing. In Greece the snake was also a symbol of alchemy and healing. The god Hermes carried a staff upon which were entwined two snakes. This caduceus symbol is the primary symbol of modern medicine and doctors. It is a symbol of wisdom expressed through healing. In India the goddess Vinata was the mother of snakes and a symbol of water and the underworld.

Before the snake begins to shed its skin, its eyes will begin to cloud over [giving it] a trancelike appearance. Mystics and shamans [view] this as the ability of the snake to move between the realms of the living and the dead, of crossing over from life to death and then back to life again. As the skin begins to shed, the eyes begin to clear as if they will see the world anew. For this reason, alchemists often believed that wisdom and new knowledge would lead to death and rebirth, enabling the individual to see the world from an entirely new perspective.”

Expect death and rebirth when Snake appears. Not an actual death but a transition. And see from a new perspective.

animalspiritguideAnother leading practitioner on animal totem is Steven Farmer. In his book, Spirit Guides: An Easy-to-Use Handbook for Identifying and Understanding Your Power Animals and Animal Spirit Helpers, he explains to call on Snake when,

You’re going through a major life or developmental transition, one so powerful that it requires you to shed a lot of attachments, especially to your old identity. You’re moving into unknown territory, a passage through darkness, and you’re feeling afraid that you won’t get through it and are anxious about what lies ahead. You need a healing of any kind. You need help in releasing any and all self-destructive or self-defeating tendencies or habits.” 

There really isn’t anything new with these messages. I already know them. I know it is a most intense time of healing for me. Major transition. Huge shifts and transformation.

My dilemma has been how do I get through this? What do I need to do to transcend it? To rise above it. To move beyond the emotions which have been wearing me down.

Give myself a voice, especially my little Nadine. Let myself express. Speak my truth. Release all repressed feelings.

That’s what I need to do.

And I need to simply keep on writing. At the same time, be vigilant and be conscious that I can be truthful but not hurtful.

The story behind my story

Writing is a way for me to express myself.  It is an alchemical process and it has been quite healing for me.

Why do I write, really? Why am I revisiting and writing about my past?

Because it helps me rewrite the story of my life. It makes me tell not my story, no longer simply my story, but the story behind my story.

I know I cannot change the past. I have no intentions to.

But I do want to change how I view my past. To see it through a different set of lenses.  Just like the snake, when “the skin begins to shed, the eyes begin to clear as if they will see the world anew.”

“We can’t change the past, but we can change our relationship to it.”

~Linda Joy Myers, Don’t Call Me Mother: A Daughter’s Journey from Abandonment to Forgiveness

Why did it happen? Why did I choose it to happen? Why did my soul agree to such a contract? What spiritual agreements are being fulfilled? What was my soul to gain?

These are the questions that I want answered as I revisit my past and write about it. It’ll give me the sense of completion, of closure — to make peace with what was. To come full circle. Be done with it, once and for all. To let go of what could have or what might have. What should or shouldn’t have.

And then I can be more at peace with what is.

I’m clear that my aim is to go beyond the story, to go past the hurts and the pain, the blame and the shame, the grudges and grievances.

My aim is to see the love that is hidden in the twists and turns of the seemingly endless saga. The love that I want to remember is in each person in the narrative. The love that I have for each character, for each member of my family, and everyone else in the story. The same love that they have for me.

My intention is to see the love that is woven in the story. The love that is weaving the story. The love that is the story. To arrive at the conclusion that all it is, is a story of love.

And thankfully, Snake’s appearance is ushering the way for precisely just that to happen.

To be continued

Related articles:

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Books, Consciousness & Awareness, Healing, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Story Behind My Story – Snake Medicine (Part 2)

  1. Steve Stocker says:

    I am so glad I was led to your writing. I’ve run across very few things as uplifting as what I’ve seen so far, maybe because it speaks so much of my inner truth, also. Thank you! 🙂

    Like

    • You’re most welcome Steve. Thank you too for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. I’m glad you resonated with my writing. It does mean a lot to me when people can relate to what I’m sharing. It encourages me to keep on writing and sharing.
      Much Blessings…Namaste…♥♥♥NadineMarie♥♥♥

      Like

  2. Dani Lynn says:

    (Let your gardener know your rat snake eats rats & mice & won’t hurt you. And won’t get to more than about 3 feet long & not really much bigger around than it is now. 🙂 ) Anyway, AMAZING story in that the second snake came into the picture! – I appreciate your sharing this story, perhaps there’s a “sign” in it for me too. I wrote an Animal Spirit Guide handbook that should be appearing on Amazon in about a week. (Wrote it a few yrs ago & had some printed but just got around to getting it online.) Now a couple days later I’m reading your post about animal guides with links you’ve included to the Andrews/ Farmer online books! See, your showing me I’ll find success with my book online 🙂 I’m going to be positive about it. LOL. – You are fortunate in experiencing snake, it is a very powerful guide. Love & Light to you -Dani

    Like

    • Yes Dani, it truly is amazing! 🙂 And yes, I’ve also researched immediately after my experience and found out that rat snakes aren’t harmful. Some even make pets out of them. 🙂 In this country, the Philippines, and especially in the provinces, there’s a lot of education that needs to be done regarding animals. The Philippines isn’t an animal-loving country. The automatic response of the average person when seeing one is to be fearful. 😦 Communicating with animals and welcoming their messages certainly hasn’t seeped through the consciousness. I know it isn’t unique to this country. The majority of humanity needs to be educated. So your book most certainly is an invaluable tool Dani! There aren’t that many resources on animal medicine. Thanks for stopping by and leaving your comments.

      Much Blessings…Namaste…♥♥♥NadineMarie♥♥♥

      Like

  3. Pingback: Revisiting the past – Snake Medicine (Part 3) | Aligning With Truth

  4. Pingback: The Alchemical Process of the Shedding of the Skin (Snake Medicine Part 4) | Aligning With Truth

  5. Pingback: My Proclamation to the Universe as I Blog | Aligning With Truth

  6. Pingback: My Greatest Story Ever Told | Aligning With Truth

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

