Snake Medicine (Part 1)

The intense heat of the afternoon sun is beginning to cool down. I am lying on  the hammock in the veranda enjoying a movie on-line. I pause the player as I need to take a pee.

I am about to take the step leading to the entrance of the cottage when I am stopped in my tracks. A snake is crawling along the edge of the step! Specifically, a rat snake. A grayish white baby snake around 18 to 20 inches.

I’ve encountered sea snakes quite a few times when I’d take a swim or snorkel. But a rat snake is a first for me.

My first immediate thought is to get my camera. But I decide otherwise as the snake might have crawled away already by the time I return. Besides what’s more important — to capture it in a picture or to be with Snake and hear its message?

I’m not really scared. More like, “Ok, why are you appearing? And what do you want me to do now?”

I want it to be removed from the veranda and thrown down the cliff. Now I may not have been scared by the snake’s appearance, and I may be quite courageous and have overcome already a lot of my fears. But my being fearless ends with the thought of holding it. Even if it’s only a baby snake. Whether with a tool or bare hands, holding this wild snake is definitely someone else’s job. It’s a lesson I’m willing to forego. 🙂

I call the gardener who has a different plan of action. He quickly takes out his bolo knife. He’s going to kill it! Ahhhh….why?!?

Or, why not? As some of you might ask.

I talk him out of it but he explains that the snake will find its way back into the property when it gets bigger.

Well, so what if it comes back? What’s the danger?

Alright, it is a snake and I am not an expert on snakes. And I’m neither a snake whisperer nor do I desire to be one.

But I have a felt sense that there isn’t something to be frightened about. Yet I’m not too sure. I don’t want to assume. It’s my first encounter with a wild snake on land. I really don’t know what to do in such a situation. Would you?

So I let the gardener do his thing as I turn away and cringe inside. I truly feel sorry for the snake. And guilty. At some level, I feel it isn’t the right thing to do. I would much prefer to set it free into the wild.

I take a pee and go back to lying down on the hammock, feeling guilty and really sorry for what happened. You allowed the snake to be killed! You’re an accomplice Nadine!

In a couple of minutes, my self-loathing is interrupted by a thumping sound. Something falls on the ground. It sounds like a lizard falling on the floor. I look and what would greet me is another rat snake, of the exact same length and size as the previous one, but with a much darker color — combination of brown and green.

What are the odds, right? Is it the snake’s ghost? 🙂 Did it come back to haunt me? Has it reincarnated, so fast? 🙂

Very quietly and very slowly, I move closer. I squat briefly in front of the plant pot where the snake is crawling around. I am very subtle in my movements as I don’t want to startle the snake. I lean in but keep a safe distance. I watch the snake gracefully wrap itself around the bottom of the pot. Such an elegant movement!

I wonder what it is going to do next, at the same time I wonder about me? What am I to do, while taken by surprise that a wild snake would appear twice, and only within a couple of minutes. I can’t believe it! Ok Snake, why are you making your presence felt? You definitely have something to tell me. An important message for sure. 

There is a part of me that still doesn’t feel right about killing the snake. Nonetheless, I call back the gardener who I’m sure finds the incident as much incredulous.

And my thoughts may have just created my reality.

By the time the gardener arrives, the snake has quickly crawled away under the raised floor of the veranda. Much to my relief actually. 🙂 I have an inner grin as I am sending my blessing and appreciation to the snake. I am joyously, quietly celebrating inside while watching the poor gardener so determined in catching the snake. He searches intently under the floor and the nearby areas, not knowing I am hoping he will not find it.

And he didn’t. Yay! 🙂 My wish was granted! 🙂

I have a comfortable warmth in my face.  The karmic debt I incurred with the first snake being killed, with my participation, albeit indirectly, is quickly balanced out with the second one getting away and not suffering the same fate as the first. 🙂

Admittedly though, I feel my heart skip a bit with the thought that there is a snake in my midst. My stomach tightens. A  tiny part of me starts to feel a bit nervous.

But then again, what am I to do? Strategically place snake catchers? Simply be inside the cottage all the time and no longer stay outside, to ensure I don’t encounter the snake ever again? I don’t think so.

I lie down again on the hammock. This time, I have some sense of inner peace. I quickly gaze at the clear blue sky and take a deep breath. I close my eyes and communicate with Snake telepathically.

I welcome and thank you for your presence Snake. I have no issues with you keeping me company for as long as I wouldn’t be bothered and you wouldn’t attack me. 🙂 You and I can co-exist peacefully. I also vow that I would simply let you be the next time you show up.  And I thank you for the message you’re bringing. I know you have the answer to what is going on with me.

I’ve been going through intense clearing and healing, especially with regards to my experiences with my family of origin. My father’s death anniversary in March and my aunt’s birthday in August, and whose death anniversary is also in March, led me into deep introspection and self-reflection. Much of that is also being ushered in by my pivotal astrological Chiron Return phase.

Before the snakes appeared, I’d been asking myself, when and how will I be able to truly let go of my resentments in connection with my family? I most certainly don’t want to cling on to this heaviness and unforgiveness. I was actually starting to get a little desperate and impatient with my process. In fact, the movie I’m watching  even reinforced some of these sentiments. I was able to get to a place of peace and forgiveness with my father, easily and long before he passed on. Why not with the rest? And how?

At the same time, I’ve been experiencing some blockages in my blogging. Again. Earlier, I’ve posted my predicament about how the people concerned would feel about what I’m writing and sharing. An ongoing apprehension. I posted them here, here, and here.

Then it hit me.

I can in fact marry both issues. Snake showing up certainly isn’t coincidental. And without a doubt, Snake’s appearance just has the message for me. And when I make and find the connection, somewhere there lies the answer to my question.

To be continued

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Healing, Mother Earth, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Snake Medicine (Part 1)

  1. Great post. You might say….Aligning With Snakes 🙂
    J.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The True History of the Cullen Family, Chapter 4 | The Twilight Fun Blog

  3. Pingback: Snake Medicine (Part 2) | Aligning With Truth

  4. Pingback: Revisiting the past – Snake Medicine (Part 3) | Aligning With Truth

  5. Pingback: The Alchemical Process of the Shedding of the Skin (Snake Medicine Part 4) | Aligning With Truth

  6. Pingback: Ushering in the New With the Appearance of GOOSE | Aligning With Truth

  7. Snakes are good for keeping the place clear of rodents. They bring fertility, they teach how to renew yourself. I’m very disapponted that you let the first snake to be killed, especially if it wasn’t a venomous one, and it’s easy to discover if it was.

    Like

    • I hear you, Monica. As I wrote here, I felt really guilty and truly sorry for what happened — that I was an accomplice in the death of the snake. That I let it happen and didn’t do what I could to stop it.

      Thankfully, I have since forgiven myself for not having known better. And after much self-introspection, inquiry, and research, I arrived at the realization which echoes pretty much what you shared about what Snake teaches us — particularly about renewing one’s self. And I had shared them in the posts following this one with the links/pingbacks at the bottom of this post.

      I may not have been as skilled as you are — and am not that experienced, still, no pretense there — in determining if a snake is venomous or not.

      This unfortunate episode, though, taught me and humbled me so much. I’ve become more informed not only when to be fearful of snakes (or whether or not to be fearful of them), but what Snake’s symbolism is, its metaphysical meaning and spiritual messages — all of which, as I wrote here, I had already shared in the posts following this one. I have since used this incident and all that I’ve learned from and through it to educate others who, like me, at one point, also didn’t know any better. And I’m so grateful, so, so grateful for the blessings, the realizations that have come out of this! 🙂

      And thanks for your comment, Monica, I was reminded to focus on being ever-grateful for what I have been gifted by this incident as well as all of my other unpleasant and disappointing experiences. I was reminded to be thankful for how much I have grown from them. To focus on the gifts, on the good that has come out of the misadventures — as I sure have quite an extensive collection of them! 😉 — rather than dwell on the could have been’s or should have’s. To be compassionate towards myself instead of constantly berating myself for whatever mistakes I committed or sulking for all the mishaps.

      Thank you for your visit, & Brightest Blessings to you!!! ⭐ 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

