Childish and Childlike Was My Aunt – In Memory of Tita Lola, Part 1

My siblings and I grew up with our maternal grandmother and Tita Lola, my mother’s older sister.

We all lived in the same household. When my niece and nephews were born, who also lived with us, we fondly called her that — “Tita Lola. Lola though isn’t my aunt’s name; it is the Filipino term for “grandmother.” Putting together her being both an aunt, (“Tita“)and grand aunt, Tita Lola later became our term of endearment for her.

Tita Lola dedicated her life caring for our grandmother, as well as taking care of me and my siblings. She didn’t have any regular job and looking after us instead became her calling, her mission.

On the 3rd of this month, Tita Lola would have turned 82 (or 83, I think. Not too sure.) And there was such a huge shift and profound healing which took place within me, as I remembered Tita Lola, and recalled our times together.  It was quite an intense week. Of yet more healing, clearing, cleansing, releasing, transmuting. Come to think of it, when has it ever been not this way? I’m not complaining. I’m just saying….. 😉

So on the occasion of her natal day, in her memory, I’m dedicating this series of posts to her.

Tita Lola sacrificed so much for us, for me and my siblings. She took care of us and was so selfless — to a fault.

She took us to and from school. She accompanied us in our jeepney rides. (Jeepney is Filipino traditional mode of public transportation.) She let me sit on her lap and I often ended up taking a nap during the ride back home.

At school, Tita Lola waited for us patiently while we were attending our classes. Ready with our snacks when it was our recess time, she would excitedly ask how our classes were while doting on us, checking if we’re perspiring. She would even go home in the middle of the morning, and then come back in time for our lunch break, ready with our meals hot and freshly prepared.  At times, while waiting, she would even do some of my art projects, hahaha!!! 🙂

Tita Lola did the food shopping for our family. She had no qualms going to the local public market, despite the discomfort and inconvenience of finding her way through a busy and crowded place. It wasn’t imposed on her. It was a chore that brought her so much joy!

Upon arrival at home, she’d list down all the items she purchased and their corresponding prices, down to the last centavo (Filipino equivalent of the U.S. cent) — all from memory! She was very good in numbers. More so as it related to money.

The time when she’d be doing her accounting was fun time for us.

My siblings and I would have the time of our life getting her distracted. Tita Lola would be in full concentration and we knew very well how to confuse her. And of course, the more she’d tell us she wouldn’t have any of it, the more we’d poke on her and provoke her, all with the sole intention of pissing her off!

And get peeved she would be because not long after, she’d blurt out her characteristic, infamous “Bosit na!” Tita Lola’s own version of the Filipino “Bullshit!” Oh were we thrilled eliciting such a reaction from her! We did it fondly and we were so entertained by it! And maybe, despite her apparent irritation, Tita Lola likewise got a kick out of the attention we accorded her.

It was our game. Our playtime. A moment of fun.

Except that for Tita Lola, she wasn’t simply playing a game. She was being herself. Because for the most part, she was pretty much that — a child. Child-like and childish. Tita Lola had delayed mental development faculties and was “babied” by the family because of it.

Sadly though, rare were the times when we showed her our affection. Quite often, much of what Tita Lola received from us was disrespect. The uttermost kind of disrespect. And yes, despite, in fact, because of her condition. Unbelievable yet so very real. And quite shameful, to say the least.

To be continued – Getting her dolled up – In memory of Tita Lola, Part 2

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Healing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Childish and Childlike Was My Aunt – In Memory of Tita Lola, Part 1

  1. Kane Beatz says:

    Reblogged this on Beatz kane Blog.

    Like

  2. Dear Nadine Marie,
    What a wonderfully heartwarming and yet sad blog.

    I know your family of origin wasn’t that loving – like mine. I was jumping for joy inside when I read this blog – Nadine Marie experienced love and kindness.

    But like you, I sometimes didn’t express the love I felt for someone or something as I wish I would have at the time.

    The wonderful part of our beings is that we were able to express and allow love in. And I’m guessing that your very special caretaker knew deep within her being even while of earth how important she was to you all.
    Love Brenda

    Like

    • Wow, thanks for your kind words Brenda! I just had an aha moment from what you said. 🙂 But I will not pre-empt myself. I will include my newest insight and realization in my later posts. Thanks much and much love to you too!

      Like

  3. skittenn says:

    Nadine- I can’t wait to learn more aunt Tita Lola. She sounds like an amazing woman. Sometimes our reflections though they may pierce us, brings clarity and much needed healing.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Getting her dolled up — In memory of Tita Lola, Part 2 | Aligning With Truth

  5. Pingback: Releasing the ties that bind – In memory of Tita Lola (Part 3) | Aligning With Truth

  6. Pingback: To publish or not to publish my post | Aligning With Truth

  7. Pingback: So long, Tita Lola — In memory of Tita Lola (Part 4) | Aligning With Truth

  8. Pingback: Unexpected yet inevitable — In memory of Tita Lola, Part 5 | Aligning With Truth

  9. Pingback: Snake Medicine (Part 1) | Aligning With Truth

  10. Pingback: Do You Cry For the Dead or For the Living? | Aligning With Truth

  11. Pingback: Dysfunctional Behavior – When Is It Allowable or Acceptable? | Aligning With Truth

  12. Pingback: Fearing What I Don’t Know | Aligning With Truth

  13. Pingback: Why Does A Soul Choose Mental Illness As A Growth Opportunity? | Aligning With Truth

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

