Every step is forward – No going back

In a few days, on July 20th, Mercury Retrograde period will be over. It will take a few more days after that though, before the energies finally settle and “normalize.”

It certainly has been for me, a period of much introspection, reflection and meditation. Of even deeper cleansing and purifying. Of more healing and gaining yet more clarity.

The article by astrology guide Molly Hall, Mercury Retrograde in Cancer, 2013, points out the following areas that are affected by this positioning. And I certainly found myself doing much self-inquiry around them:

  • Revisiting themes around Mothers and mothering.
  • A nation’s identity, a sense of place in region, state or country.
  • Memory, the past, an emotional legacy.
  • Family origins, reunions, emotional dependencies.
  • Travel plans, homesickness, summer memories.

And this retrograde positioning makes the energies exceptionally emotional, with Cancer being the sign of emotions and feelings.

Here’s what author Jennifer Hoffman wrote in her facebook page today,

“…a lot of emotional energy is being stirred up but it’s more than that. Our emotional anchors, the emotions we have used to either hang onto our longstanding illusions, limit our lives because we want closure or fulfillment of specific emotions and the people and relationships around them, or heal ourselves or others, are being stirred up, which is why we’re feeling intense emotional energy accompanied by the feeling of powerlessness, loss, depression, incompleteness, frustration or despair.  This is what we need to release not by giving up or convincing ourselves that it is over (even though it is) but by shifting into a higher vibration which allows them to close because they are no longer being empowered by us and our energy.”

As I said in my most recent post, I was starting to feel anxious about not having posted anything in two weeks. I was feeling as if I wasn’t accomplishing anything — as if not having written any posts is the only measurement of how far along I’ve come in my journey. Again, me and my self-imposed, self-defined and self-limiting standards! 🙂

The do-ing part of me was doing that to me, pun intended, while the be-ing part of me was simply letting me be! 🙂

The do-ing part of me was saying, Go, go, go!, while the be-ing part of me was saying, No, no, no! Oh I just love it when that happens to me! 🙂 A clear reminder of my humanness, the craziness of our times and the numerous contradictions in our earthly lives!

Yet not doing something, especially doing anything externally, is precisely the energy of the Mercury Retrograde period. It’s really more about going within, reflecting, revisiting, resting….. be-ing. As Molly Hall wrote, it is “a stellar time for artist dates and sabbaticals.”

And while nothing may seem to be happening externally, it is what’s going on internally, the inner shifts and transformation that are taking place during this period, which would eventually pave the way for manifestation. The internal shifts will materialize the outside reality.

And I found this post from DailyOm to be such an apt reminder for this period’s energies of introspection, or at least for where I’m particularly at in my journey:

“There are times when we feel that we are spinning our wheels in the mud in terms of our spiritual progress. This can be especially true following a period of major growth in which we feel as if we’ve gained a lot of ground. In fact, this is the way growth goes—periods of intense forward movement give way to periods of what seems like stagnation. In those moments when we feel discouraged, it’s helpful to remember that we don’t ever really go backward. It may be that we are at a standstill because there is a new obstacle in our paths, or a new layer to get through, but the hard work we have done cannot be undone.

“Every step on the path is meaningful, and even one that seems to take us backward is a forward step in the sense that it is what we must do to move to the next level. In addition, an intense growth spurt requires that we rest for a time in order to fully integrate the new energies that have been liberated by our hard work. When we feel we are not making progress, we can encourage ourselves to take a moment to rest. We can meditate more, feed ourselves well, and get extra sleep. Before we know it, we will be spurred on to work toward the next level of our development, and this rest will make sense then as something we needed in order to continue.

“Once the sun rises, it doesn’t go backward but instead follows its path in one direction. It may appear to stand still for a moment in time, or to move more slowly at some point or another, but really it is steadily moving forward on its path. We are the same way, and once we have moved through something we can never really go back. We may be resting or revisiting issues that seem old, and it’s natural to feel stuck, but in truth we are always taking the next important step forward on our path.”

I have come across fellow Lightworkers with similar experiences. We’ve done a lot of clearing and cleansing, and deep and intense inner work. Much has been released and transmuted, yet we’re only past the mid-point of 2013! With still more work ahead of us.

So this lull phase may at times make us feel like it’s a period of feeling lazy or being unproductive.  We may even feel a bit discouraged.

On the contrary though, the period of rest is just as important and essential as our days of activities, as it is what will fuel us to define and discern our course of action, to actually take that next step, and keep us going in our journey.  And “this rest will make sense then as something we needed in order to continue.”

Take a rest and rest well.  Take the time to refuel. When it’s time to get going again, rest will be our most treasured jewel.

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Astrology, Consciousness & Awareness, Healing, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Every step is forward – No going back

  1. yogaleigh says:

    Just what I needed to hear–thx.

    Like

  2. Kitten says:

    Nadine- I am so fascinated by what you’re written here. This is so insightful! I should learn more about astrology, this may help me better understand who I am. As always, thanks for sharing and stopping by. Best to you.

    Like

    • Thanks Kitten! Astrology sure has been one of my most invaluable tools in understanding myself and making sense of my experiences. Thank you too for stopping by and leaving your thoughts. Much Love & Blessings to you too dear heart…Namaste.. ♥♥♥NadineMarie♥♥♥

      Like

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

