Breaking my blogging lull

I haven’t posted for the past two weeks. And I’m starting to feel the anxiety around my self-imposed deadlines and frequency of posts.  It’s all these voices in my head telling me, alright, pressuring me to write. You gotta write!

Yes, it’s my inner critic and my perfectionistic tendencies with all the should’s and the must’s.  The do’s and the don’ts.

And yes, I am, was allowing myself to be influenced, alright, dictated by what the experts and authorities say, and what I’ve been reading about on how to blog successfully or write more effectively. And as I followed their tips and guidelines, especially on how to overcome my blocks, writer’s or otherwise, I found myself getting even more stuck, more blocked and more confused on what to write about! 🙂

I was spending time, perhaps more than necessary, reading, researching and listening to how to write and blog more effectively. I was doing the exercises on what might be causing the block and how to overcome it, instead of actually writing!

Sure the exercises are supposed to help me gain clarity and keep the creative writing momentum going again. Yet where does one draw the line? How does one strike a balance? How much of the experts’ advice do I go along with, and how much of what I want, do I follow and give it permission and its rightful voice of expression?

Don’t get me wrong. I have found tons of invaluable tools and resources, some of which I do want to share in this site.

Yet, I now find myself asking, how about if I simply let the creative juices flow and allow the energies to go where they want to? And even if the energies seem to go directionless, it is what it is. No judgment. No pressure.

Am I rationalizing it too much? And I sometimes do have that tendency. Am I intellectualizing a process that is so much more intuitive than logical?

And am I being too hard on myself?

I believe so.

Perhaps I am being reminded to simply go back to the joy of expressing and writing — whatever, however, wherever. It is my site after all.

Camera 14MP-9PCWhen I find myself exerting too much effort, I am actually losing my connection with Source, which is where my creativity stems from. When I make an effort, too much effort, and force myself to connect with and align with Source, knowing that that’s how and that’s when I’m most inspired, the more I make an effort to connect with Source, the more I in fact lose my connection with my Creator, my creativity.

I am do-ing rather than be-ing. And we all know that it is in the state of be-ing where things are flowing more freely, and life unfolds effortlessly, organically, naturally.

And I am actually taking away the pleasure of creating. I am moving away from the process and the very essence of creating — the thrill of discovering, of not knowing, yet excitedly anticipating the unraveling of endless possibilities.

Ahhh…me and my human experience. Attempting to make sense of every experience, yet finding myself scratching my head and saying, “Hmmm…but this doesn’t make sense!”

Perhaps it’s simply my inner rebel, calling for attention and needing to be heard. And Uranus is strongly positioned in my natal chart. (In astrology, “Uranus represents sudden turns, rebellion, independence, invention, surprises, liberation, disruption, awakening.”)

And here I am blogging, alright, venting about it, and still not able to make much sense of it. 🙂

Well, at least I’ve now posted about it — which broke my two-week lull, and whatever writing and blogging “do’s and don’ts” there are!

Now that is just what gave me so much pleasure and joy! 🙂

And I’m now a happy camper, and a joyous and content writer and blogger again! 🙂

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breaking my blogging lull

  1. lisalday111711 says:

    Nadine,

    I love your blog so all your research has paid off. There is so much I do not understand about setting up my blog that I wished I knew for example the headings (links) at the top of your blog that allow me to navigate your site. Wish I could do it but have no idea how. Any advice on learning this stuff?
    But the real reason I am writing is I too experience terrible writers block and am going through something like that now off and on. I have had it much worse….when I got out of college it took me 7 years before I could write….even journal. I find doing exactly what you are doing is the best thing…just get back up on that horse and ride…it may not be smooth but its a start.
    Here was my attempt I think in harmony with what you are doing with your blog. Thanks for sharing
    http://lisalday111711.com/2013/07/13/the-art-of-listening/
    Lisa

    Like

    • Hello Lisa! I’m no expert on creating blog sites. It was simply my passion and creativity that guided me along the way. I’d get a “high” each time I discovered a feature, and as I shared in this post, it is this thrill of discovering that gives me the joy and pleasure of creating through writing and blogging! 🙂 Regarding your question, if we had the same blog themes, it’d probably be much easier for me to suggest how to go about it. Having said that, I think what you’re referring to are the “pages” showing at the top of my site. You may want to navigate around your blog and the theme template, and see where the creating/adding pages section is. Hope that helps!

      All writers, artists, or people in general, experience blocks. When I was attending graduate school, one lesson that I learned is the art of surrendering and allowing when it comes to writing my papers. I didn’t let the deadlines pressure me. I simply trusted that the inspiration would come. And it always did every time it was paper writing time! 🙂 And there was no one particular time during the day or evening when the inspiration would come. I simply waited for the inspiration surge to kick in and I’d immediately be either in front of my computer or scribbling on my notebook, which I carried with me everywhere, a habit/technique that I still do to this day. We never know when an insight or a message would come through! 😉 So while the majority of my school mates were stressing out and complaining about the amount and length of papers that we needed to write, and we wrote A LOT, I was genuinely enjoying it! In fact, that was what inspired me and eventually led me to create this blog site. 🙂

      Thank you for stopping by and sharing your experiences. Writing this response to your comment and writing this post as well, served as a gentle reminder for me to trust and to know that the inspiration is and will be there. When it’s time to write and to share, it’s time to write and to share! 🙂 And the blocks will always be there, but they’re there merely to serve as a respite point. Nothing more, nothing less, nothing else. Everything indeed has a purpose! 😉

      Much Blessings, Keep Well, Be Light, Peace & Joy…Namaste…♥♥♥Nadine Marie♥♥♥

      Like

  2. Pingback: Every Step Is Forward – No Going Back | Aligning With Truth

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

