Is that a camera malfunction or is that an orb?

It’s one thing to be able to feel and sense the presence of nature spirits. But to be able to capture them in photographs took my experience to a whole different level.

When they showed up in the pictures that I’d taken while exploring the island of Camiguin, I felt so validated that I am indeed never alone — not that I ever felt lonesome when I’m by myself. But it was a wonderful feeling to experience such validation.

And it sure did lift me up! I also felt strongly that the spirits were communicating something to me.  They weren’t merely making their presence felt but they wanted me to deliver a message on their behalf.

The first orb that has ever appeared in a photo taken of me. Katibawasan Falls, Camiguin Island, Philippines Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, MA 2013 © Aligning With Truth

The first orb that has ever appeared in a photo taken of me on December 30, 2012 at the Katibawasan Falls, Camiguin Island, Philippines Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, MA 2013 © Aligning With Truth

Ate, ano yung bilog na puti? May sira ang kamera mo? (What is that white circle? Is there something wrong with your camera?)” An innocent inquiry from an innocent 10-year-old girl.

The first time that an orb appeared in the photograph, I was in the company of two young girls who were raised by their parents to be fearful of such spirits.

Sadly, it’s a commonly held belief amongst my fellow countrymen, the Filipinos, be it those residing in the city or rural areas, to equate spirits with ghosts.

The two local teenage girls who accompanied me were in awe when they saw the orbs in the pictures. They were initially fearful, quite understandably, considering they were raised by their parents to equate spirits with ghosts, a widely-held belief amongst locals. I took the opportunity to properly educate them, with their fear eventually being replaced with curiosity and wonderment. Location: Katibawasan Falls, Camiguin Island, Philippines Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, MA 2013 © Aligning With Truth

The two local teenage girls who accompanied me were amazed when they saw the orbs in the pictures. They were initially fearful, quite understandably, considering they were raised by their parents to equate spirits with ghosts, a widely held belief amongst locals. I took the opportunity to properly educate them, with their fear eventually being replaced with curiosity and wonderment. Location: Katibawasan Falls, Camiguin Island, Philippines Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, MA 2013 © Aligning With Truth

Yet I was quite pleased because the opportunity for me to re-educate them presented itself. A baby step in bringing back the consciousness of the people to the level with which our ancestors lived — paying reverence to all forms of life, and giving respect to all creations of Nature and the spirits that reside in them and take care of them.

Nature spirits reside in all of the manifestations of Nature. It’s a long-held belief of our ancestors who revered Mother Earth and all spirits that live in them. Nature spirits take care of the various forms and creations of Nature. They maintain the balance which is, sadly, so easily disrupted by human beings.

The presence of Nature spirits was an indication of how pure (still) and high-vibrating (still) the energies are in the sacred Nature spaces that the island of Camiguin is offering.  It was one reason that made me decide to stay in the island much longer than I had originally intended, and even considered it as a possible geographical home on Earth.

Katibawasan Falls is a stunning, clear waterfall, plunging 75 meters into a rock pool surrounded by ground orchids, wild ferns, trees and boulders.Its cold water provides a refreshing summer splash to bathers and picnickers. Description Source: http://www.camiguintourismassociation.com/camiguin/Katibawasan.html Photo taken by Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, MA 2013 © Aligning With Truth

Katibawasan Falls is a stunning, clear waterfall, plunging 75 meters into a rock pool surrounded by ground orchids, wild ferns, trees and boulders.Its cold water provides a refreshing summer splash to bathers and picnickers. Description Source: http://www.camiguintourismassociation.com/camiguin/Katibawasan.html Note the two large orbs to the right of the waterfall, described by some locals as “the long flowing hair of the White Lady of Katibawasan.” Photo taken by Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, MA 2013 © Aligning With Truth

The orbs showed up only when I am in the pictures. Location: Katibawasan Falls, Camiguin Island, Philippines Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, MA 2013 © Aligning With Truth

A refreshing and rejuvenating dip even as the water was quite chilling! Tugnaw! (Local term for “Cold!”). It was December, one of the coldest months of the year in Camiguin. It’s quite fascinating that the orbs would show up only when I am in the pictures. Location: Katibawasan Falls, Camiguin Island, Philippines Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, MA 2013 © Aligning With Truth

I spoke to a few of the locals about my experiences and showed them the photographs of the orbs. Many of them were in awe.

Do’s and Don’ts

I shared with them how pleased I was that smoking is prohibited in these tourist attractions. It most certainly helps maintain the high vibrational frequency of these destinations.

However, drinking and consequently, screaming, loud conversations, boisterous laughter are permitted (still). 😦

I went back to Katibawasan Falls a couple of days after my first visit. This time, I went by myself. I was surprised not to feel the spirits' presence, considering I had the place all to myself. Not for long though. A group of local men soon arrived, bottles of beer and cigarettes in tow, despite cigarette smoking not being permitted. Ahhh...the Filipinos and their inherent rebellious nature, lack of self-discipline and refusal to follow the law, be it man-made or universal spiritual laws. Photo taken by Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, MA 2013 © Aligning With Truth

I went back to Katibawasan Falls a couple of days after my first visit. This time, I went by myself. I was disappointed that I didn’t feel the spirits’ presence, considering I had the place all to myself. Apparently, not for long though because shortly after I arrived, not far behind was a group of local men, bottles of beer and cigarettes in tow, despite cigarette smoking being prohibited. Note the cigarette held in the man’s left hand. Ahhh…the average Filipino and his inherent rebellious streak, lack of self-discipline and refusal to follow the law, be it man-made or universal spiritual laws. No wonder I didn’t feel the spirits welcome me when I arrived….They had already sensed the influx of low-vibrating energies from people who have no respect for the sacred places they’re visiting — enough reason to drive the spirits away. Photo taken by Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, MA 2013 © Aligning With Truth

These low-vibrating activities are too much for the Nature spirits to bear. They find it difficult, almost impossible to tolerate most especially loud sounds and noise generated by human activities and interactions.

Laughter is very inviting to the Nature spirits — but nothing loud, rowdy, boisterous, over-the-top. These human activities scare the spirits and eventually drive them away.

The majority of human beings are not aware of this. They don’t know that it’s one of the consequences of the ignorant, irresponsible, selfish and self-serving behaviors that humans exhibit when in the midst of Nature’s creations. Eventually, these sacred spaces lose their life and purity. They become contaminated — physically, psychically, energetically.

It is the same fate that the once Philippines’ mystical mountain, Mt. Banahaw suffered.  Located in Southern Luzon, it’s been closed down by the DENR (Department of Environment and Natural Resources) for almost 10 years to allow Mt. Banahaw to heal and to recover. It is proof enough that when sacred and mystical places are treated like picnic grounds, it’s only a matter of time that the place will be led, unfortunately, to its eventual extinction.

It is one thing to be ecstatic and joyful when we are in the midst of such purity in Nature. But we still need to remember to give due respect — to the place and to those residing in them, seen or unseen.

Sadly though, the majority of humanity has lost touch with the essence of such Nature sanctuaries.  These places are treated by human beings as if humans are the only ones present, or worse, that they own them or have dominion over them.  Ahhh….our insensitivities and arrogant ways… 😦

And yet, if in fact we believe that we are the “rightful” owners, why then do we treat such places with less respect and reverence?

When someone visits our home, and they do not know how to give respect to our home or to us, the owners or occupants, don’t we feel irked and disrespected?

Why then can we not employ the same attitude when we visit other places? Why can we not ask permission from the owners or occupants of the places in Nature that we go to? Why can we not give respect to the rightful owners, the Nature spirits, or whoever else the other occupants are, who allow us to visit their dwellings? Why can we not give thanks to them for having graciously welcomed us into their homes and generously shared them with us?

Is that a camera malfunction or is that an orb?

What is that white circle? Is there something wrong with your camera?

No dear, it’s an orb. It’s the Nature spirits making their presence felt and known, thanking me and blessing me in return for my acknowledgment and appreciation of their presence, for my gesture of according them the respect they deserve, for paying reverence to them and their habitat.

Now if only we can all remember this, not only when we’re in places of Nature, but anywhere and everywhere else our journey takes us.

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing, where I share my thoughts and reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...♥♥♥Nadine Marie♥♥♥
This entry was posted in Consciousness & Awareness, Environment, Inspiration, Mother Earth, Spirituality, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is that a camera malfunction or is that an orb?

  1. Pingback: To be loved and nurtured, supported and nourished by the Nature spirits | Aligning With Truth

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

