Are you giving yourself the 5 A’s?

Affection. Affirmation. Appreciation. Approval. Attention.

These are the basic needs of a child for proper and healthy psychological development.

Are you giving the “5 A’s” to yourself or are you demanding them from others?

I’m not sure if the concept of the “5 A’s” that I learned at the Reparenting the Child Within workshop was coined by the facilitator, or if it’s something that’s referenced from an expert in the field. I can’t remember.

What I clearly remember is learning the concept of the “5 A’s” 14 years ago. And it has stayed with me and has helped me, not only in understanding my childhood wounding, but in addressing them and healing myself — and as is the workshop title, in reparenting the [my] child within. It has also helped me in understanding other people’s [mis]behaviors and extending compassion.

When one of these needs is not met, it automatically results in the child’s wounding.  The severity of the wounding depends on the extent to which the child was deprived of the basic need/s.

There’s so much more to parenting than simply providing food, shelter, clothing and education. There certainly is more to mothering than bearing a child in the womb or giving birth to a baby. And there’s more to fathering than being a provider.

The “5 A’s” are the basic needs that shape the child’s psychological make-up. And it is no one else’s responsibility but the parents’ to provide for and to ensure that these basic needs of their children are met.

There are also other individuals and groups with whom the child interacts, which also impact and affect how these basic needs are met, or not. And these include school and church authorities, other caregivers such as nannies, godparents, grandparents, aunts and uncles, other relatives. Pretty much every significant adult in a child’s life or any adult that the child interacts with. And again, when the manner that the child receives the “5 A’s” from these people is distorted or unhealthy, or when the needs are negated by other people, the responsibility to correct and address it goes back to the child’s parents.

When the child or adolescent is not affirmed, approved, given attention, appreciated or shown affection, it manifests later in the child’s adult years as core issues.  It impacts and affects the individual’s relationships — with the self and with others.

Perfectionism and workaholism

I am a recovering perfectionist. Super perfectionist.

I realized that my perfectionism was my way of getting the approval that I didn’t receive. When I excel in something, when I stand out, when I don’t make any mistakes or commit any errors, I am unconsciously declaring, “See, I’m really very good.” Underneath that though is self-doubt – am I [really] good enough?

I’ve become aware that I’ve spent my life proving how good I am, seeking for validation and affirmation.  I became a workaholic as a way to channel my frustrations and deep-seated hurts. It was also my way of constantly showing not only how good but how outstanding I am — to be different, to stand out from the rest, to get the attention.

I’m the third among five children — the one that got the least attention. My brother came after me, the only boy, the one that had the “right” gender. So yes, the middle child syndrome quite fits me to a T “perfectly”! 😉

I needed to be praised. It was a way for me to be affirmed.

I needed the accolade to be validated. When I’m congratulated for a job well done, I’m getting the attention that I’m unconsciously seeking.

All these in order to fill in my unmet needs when I was a child.

No wonder I was striving to get an A in school and anywhere else thereafter. It was because I didn’t receive any of the “5 A’s”! 🙂 I can only chuckle now at the conclusions I’ve arrived at, the decisions and choices I’ve made, and the actions I’ve taken, from all the not too pleasant events in my life… 🙂

And these are just some of the ways that my unresolved childhood wound has shown up in my adult life.

When I exhibit any of the following behaviors which I also already listed in my earlier posts, such as, feeling responsible for my parents’ and siblings’ well-being, or anyone else’s for that matter (aka, feeling like everyone’s caretaker), fear of intimacy, fear of commitment, addiction, passive-aggressive behavior, people-pleasing, co-dependency, bullying, mistrust or overly trusting, lack of boundaries — it is my wounded inner child seeking for the affirmation, approval, attention, appreciation, or affection that she didn’t receive growing up.

And I may be able to get the “5 A’s” when I exhibit these unhealthy or destructive behaviors, but it isn’t the healthy way to meet my needs, or to make up for lost times. In fact, I’ve learned that if I seek any of the “5 A’s” from others or from outside of myself, I only perpetuate my issues and prolong the cycle.

Breaking the pattern

Yet I can break the cycle. I can stop my pattern of destructive or unhealthy behavior.

How?

By letting the adult Nadine give to the little Nadine all the “5 A’s.” Not from other people. Not through other means.

By loving myself ceaselessly and through constant self-care.

By giving my little Nadine the chance to experience what she didn’t.

By giving her permission and the freedom to be a playful, cheerful child.

I allow myself to make a mess, and I allow myself to not clean it up when I don’t feel like it.  (Image Source: http://www.sewmakebelieve.co.uk/)

I allow myself to make a mess, and I allow myself to not clean it up when I don’t feel like it. (Image Source: http://www.sewmakebelieve.co.uk/)

I treat myself not only to one, and not only two, but even three scoops of my favorite ice cream, when I feel like it, without even counting the calories or having any tinge of guilt.  Sometimes with a slice of chocolate cake to boot! :-)

I treat myself not only to one, and not only two, but even three scoops of my favorite ice cream, when I feel like it, without even counting the calories or having any tinge of guilt. Sometimes with a slice of chocolate cake to boot!

I allow myself to make a mistake, and I laugh at myself when I do.   (Image Source: http://rishikajain.com/)

I allow myself to make a mistake, and I laugh at myself when I do. (Image Source: http://rishikajain.com/)

“You are so beautiful! I so love you!” --- I tell myself this every time I’m in front of a mirror. Whether alone or in the presence of others, or within their hearing distance. (Image Source: http://www.123rf.com/

“You are so beautiful! I so love you!” — I tell myself this every time I’m in front of a mirror. Whether alone or in the presence of others, or within their hearing distance. (Image Source: http://www.123rf.com/

When I treat myself to regular massages, I remind myself that it is one way to receive the gift of touch, as being lovingly held was something lacking in my childhood experience.  (Image Source: http://amyablemx.com/)

When I treat myself to regular massages, I remind myself that it is one way to receive the gift of touch, as being lovingly held was something lacking in my childhood experience. (Image Source: http://amyablemx.com/)

My art and color therapy is something as simple as coloring children’s coloring books. And I allow myself to color outside the lines!  (Image Source: http://www.stockami.com/)

My art and color therapy is something as simple as coloring children’s coloring books. And I allow myself to color outside the lines! (Image Source: http://www.stockami.com/)

I wear colorful outfits --- brightly-colored but not too loud, and I don’t subscribe to any fashion policy of being too old for any style or color scheme. (Image Source: http://picdresses.com/)

I wear colorful outfits — brightly colored but not too loud, and I don’t subscribe to any fashion policy of being too old for any style or color scheme. (Image Source: http://picdresses.com/)

I cry over sad movies, sad songs, and anything else that makes me sad or makes me cry --- I simply allow the tears to flow.  (Image Source: http://worksmartlivesmart.com/)

I cry over sad movies, sad songs, and anything else that makes me sad or makes me cry — I simply allow the tears to flow. (Image Source: http://worksmartlivesmart.com/)

When I do any of these, I slowly drown out and silence the voice in me, that of my father or mother, saying things like, “You’re a bad girl!”, “Don’t do that!”, “Shut up!”

And these are only some of the endless ways that I’m giving permission to my little Nadine to express herself. To experience the kind of childhood she didn’t which she rightfully deserves. It is how I am able to transform my wounded inner child to a wonder child.

It’s how I stop passing on my toxicity to others.

It’s how I heal my childhood wounding.

It’s how I nurture my little Nadine.

And it’s how I am able to reparent the child within.

And I give myself not an “A”, but an “A+” for giving myself the “5 A’s”! 🙂

Related articles:

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing, where I share my thoughts and reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...♥♥♥Nadine Marie♥♥♥
This entry was posted in Consciousness & Awareness, Healing, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Are you giving yourself the 5 A’s?

  1. This is a lovely post Nadine Marie! I love it. And I appreciate any tips to assist with healing my own inner childhood wounding and these tips are wise and helpful. Bless your kind and generous heart for sharing all this. Love and Blessings, Gina

    Like

    • Thank you Gina dear. I’m happy to share and happy to hear that you found it useful. 🙂 And that’s not my little Nadine seeking for affirmation ;-). Thanks for visiting and leaving your comments. Much appreciated and much love and blessings to you too! Namaste…♥♥♥Nadine Marie♥♥♥

      Like

  2. Pingback: Putting a spiritual band-aid on a psychological wound | Aligning With Truth

  3. Pingback: Healer, heal thyself | Aligning With Truth

  4. Pingback: The power of telepathy – Remembering Dad on Father’s Day | Aligning With Truth

  5. Pingback: Revisiting the past – Snake Medicine (Part 3) | Aligning With Truth

  6. Pingback: Uplifting and Inspiring Posts | Aligning With Truth

  7. Pingback: Coming Home to My Inner Family | Aligning With Truth

  8. Pingback: If I Have Truly Forgiven, Why Am I Still Remembering and Feeling the Pain? | Aligning With Truth

  9. Pingback: My Need For Approval, Appreciation, Acceptance Has Shown Up. Yup…Again! | Aligning With Truth

  10. Pingback: The Lure Of The Latino…..Not | Aligning With Truth

  11. Pingback: Snake Medicine: Something Needs To Die To Give Birth To Something New | Aligning With Truth

  12. Pingback: Home Is Where The Heart Is | Aligning With Truth

  13. Pingback: Inspiring Others Through Writing & Sharing | Aligning With Truth

  14. Pingback: How I Fell In The Rescuer Trap | Aligning With Truth

  15. Pingback: Not Getting Involved & Letting Others Be | Aligning With Truth

  16. Pingback: It’s Been Four Years: What a Blogging Journey It Has Been — and Quite Transformative At That! | Aligning With Truth

  17. Pingback: Writing To EXPRESS Not To IMPRESS — A Timely Reminder On This Site’s Anniversary | Aligning With Truth

  18. Pingback: Comparing Myself With Others On The Path | Aligning With Truth

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

