Reparenting the Child Within Workshop: Meeting My Inner Child For the First Time, Part 1

It is October 1999. I am attending my very first psycho-spiritual personal growth workshop ever — Reparenting the Child Within. 

The first exercise on this unforgettable weekend is an assessment of our childhood experiences and the extent of our childhood woundedness. The results glaringly point out one thing — how extremely wounded I am as a child.

I am dumbfounded. I can’t believe what I discover from the assessment results.

The workshop is a combination of lectures, dyad sharing, regression exercises, reflections, group sharing and processing, listening to and being inspired by personal stories of those who have started the process of healing their wounded inner child, journaling, quiet time, self-reflection.

All these not only bring to my awareness how extremely wounded I am as a child. At quite such a mature age of 36, I realize that I am, in fact, a product of abuse. That I was raised in an abusive environment. That I am actually an abused child. At practically all levels.

I am shocked! I can’t make sense of it.

Up until this most revealing moment, I thought that everything that I went through during my childhood and everything that I experienced and witnessed in my family is “normal.” Acceptable. That everyone else had similar experiences. It isn’t a big deal. A non-issue. Or so I thought. I didn’t even know what constituted “abuse” until this workshop.

Or so I thought. I didn’t even know what constituted “abuse” until this workshop.

I didn’t even know what constituted “abuse” until this workshop.

It most certainly is an aha moment. And it will only be the start of a lifelong series of aha moments. All my perceptions and misperceptions start to radically shift.

All my perceptions and misperceptions start to radically shift.

For the first time, my little Nadine is allowed to speak. To scream. To express herself. Freely. In whatever way she wants to. Whatever way she knows how.

The workshop creates a very safe space for my little Nadine to voice out all her feelings and emotions. No holds barred — except no hurting of one’s self.

It feels different. Pleasantly, refreshingly, welcomingly, and joyously different. 🙂

Whatever she wants to say is important enough to be heard.

And for the very first time, my little Nadine feels that she matters. Truly matters.

Related articles:

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Consciousness & Awareness, Healing, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Reparenting the Child Within Workshop: Meeting My Inner Child For the First Time, Part 1

  1. Pingback: Reparenting the Child Within Workshop: Meeting my inner child for the first time, Part 2 | Aligning With Truth

  2. Pingback: Remembering my shadow | Aligning With Truth

  3. Pingback: Are you giving yourself the 5 A’s? | Aligning With Truth

  4. Pingback: Putting a spiritual band-aid on a psychological wound | Aligning With Truth

  5. Pingback: Chiron and me and our rejection story | Aligning With Truth

  6. Pingback: The power of telepathy – Remembering Dad on Father’s Day | Aligning With Truth

  7. Pingback: The Hurting Little Boy Behind the Angry Man – Remembering Dad on His Birthday (Part 5) | Aligning With Truth

  8. Pingback: Coming Home to My Inner Family | Aligning With Truth

  9. Sherl says:

    Hi, do u have any idea where the workshop is? Thank u

    Like

  10. Pingback: “Do you want to shine?” | Aligning With Truth

  11. Pingback: The Energies Shifted Because I Shifted | Aligning With Truth

  12. Pingback: Releasing Unloving People, Places & Situations | Aligning With Truth

  13. Pingback: Inspiring Others Through Writing & Sharing | Aligning With Truth

  14. Pingback: Returning To My Roots & My Rescuing Tendency | Aligning With Truth

  15. Pingback: Comparing Myself With Others On The Path | Aligning With Truth

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

