The Synchronistic Events That Led Me To My Inner Child

It is August 1999.

I am in the initial stages of my healing journey. Less than a year prior, I miraculously recover from a vocal cord paralysis following a thyroidectomy.

I am taking a one-month vacation in the U.S. I am not accessible via phone or email. I make sure of that. I make that clear to my colleagues.

For the first time in my thriving 15-year career in the I.T. industry, I am on my first ever “real” vacation. “Real” because I‘m taking a trip solely to go on a holiday. Not as an aside from a business trip or meeting. Not something that I squeezed into my itinerary as I’m travelling to the area anyway, and for something that’s work-related. For 30 days, I am not thinking of or doing anything that has to do with work. I am on a much-deserved, albeit long overdue one-month break. A far-fetched idea before my thyroidectomy and miraculous healing and recovery.

A visit to a bookstore

I am browsing through Barnes & Noble in LA. My collection of books has started to shift from business to personal growth and development. Likewise, bookstores have found their way into my list of new favorite hangouts.

And of the hundreds of books that adorn the shelves of the personal growth section of Barnes & Noble, one title stands out. It catches my attention. It grabs me and screams quite loudly, “Take me!” —

Forgiving Our Parents, Forgiving Ourselves: Healing Adult Children of Dysfunctional Families”, by David Stoop

I am intrigued. Something in me gets stirred.

I’m not working on any specific issue, or anything related to the topic of the book. In fact, I’m not even looking for any book in particular. But I definitely hear the voice of the Divine on this significant August 1999 warm afternoon.

I don’t waste any time. I don’t bother flipping through the pages. The silent yet strong nudge, the book’s title and its front cover — these are more than enough to convince me to immediately head to the cash register. The book, coincidentally (aka, synchronistically), is Barnes & Noble’s only copy left.

More is revealed

My one-month holiday is well-spent. Everything effortlessly goes as planned and scheduled.

I take a Texarribean (Texas and Caribbean) cruise with an office mate, her friends and their families. We are a group of 20+. It is a first for me and what a blast it is! 🙂

I reconnect with childhood friends from school. It’s been several years since my last contact with them. I’ve just been too busy with work. I am filled with the warmth of our wonderful exchanges and interactions. Thankfully, no one seems to have taken it against me that I’ve “disappeared.” In fact, I feel that the majority of us are just too happy to get reunited. Oh it is hilarious! 🙂 And they would later get used to my “now-you-see-her-now-you-don’t” act… 😉

I catch an episode of Oprah which coincidentally (aka, synchronistically – again), talks about quite a delicate topic: sexual abuse. It is mind-boggling. But it catches my attention.

From a book to a workshop

I return to my work in Manila, Philippines. Half-heartedly and with much reluctance. 😦 I am much rejuvenated though.

A female colleague mentions a particular workshop that she feels I will benefit from.

No specifics are given. I also don’t feel the urge to know more about the said workshop. Not even the topic or its title. Somehow, there’s a part of me that doesn’t want to pre-empt anything.

My colleague tells me only two things: (1) the name of the organization that’s hosting it, and (2) that I am to bring a towel and a pillow.

She assures me that all that’s needed is for me to show up at the workshop. No preparation is necessary. She is to handle the registration process.

For someone who’s such a control freak, a perfectionist, and a corporate executive with rigidity embedded in every cell of her body, I am treading on very unfamiliar and very new territory.

And little do I know that it is only the beginning of my process of addressing not only my control issues, but my numerous other issues as well.

Nevertheless, I take my colleague’s word for it. I fully trust the process.

The workshop is to be held less than a couple of months from that pivotal encounter that I have with the David Stoop book at Barnes & Noble.

I go to the venue of the workshop.

The title? Quite coincidentally (aka, synchronistically – there’s that word again),

“Reparenting the Child Within”

I meet my inner child for the first time. And it most certainly would prove to not be the last.

Because meeting my inner child leads me to one of my most important relationships. A relationship that I vow to nurture and to cherish, until I breathe my last breath in this lifetime — my relationship with my little Nadine.

Related article – Nurturing the Inner Child:  How I Paid Homage To the Divine Child

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Books, Consciousness & Awareness, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Synchronistic Events That Led Me To My Inner Child

  1. Pingback: Reparenting the Child Within Workshop: Meeting my inner child for the first time, Part 1 | Aligning With Truth

  2. Pingback: Reparenting the Child Within Workshop: Meeting my inner child for the first time, Part 2 | Aligning With Truth

  3. Pingback: Are you giving yourself the 5 A’s? | Aligning With Truth

  4. Pingback: Putting a spiritual band-aid on a psychological wound | Aligning With Truth

  5. Pingback: The Hurting Little Boy Behind the Angry Man – Remembering Dad on His Birthday (Part 5) | Aligning With Truth

  6. Pingback: Coming Home to My Inner Family | Aligning With Truth

  7. Anonymous says:

    Wow- thanks Nadine. I love how the Divine synchronistically led me to your site when I am working on these issues myself. Much Love Namaste’ ~Shawna

    Like

    • 🙂 Soooo happy to hear that Shawna! Reading comments such as yours is a reminder for me to keep on doing what I’m doing and what I find most joyful — writing, blogging, sharing my journey of integration. We really just never know how we touch other people’s lives. We simply need to beam our Light and do what gives us the most joy! And the rest will take care of itself! 😀

      Thank you Shawna for following the Divine prompting to share your thoughts here. It brightened my day and what a way to start my day! ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

      May you continue to be synchronistically and Divinely-led to your next best steps in your journey! 🙂

      Blessed be. 😀 ⭐ ❤ ⭐ 😀

      Like

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

