Flight, not eating, is what matters to Jonathan Livingston Seagull

I’m so sorry to hear about the plane crash accident that Richard Bach got into.  He is still in the hospital and I pray for his recovery.

I read Richard’s bestseller Jonathan Livingston Seagull when it was first published back in the 70’s.  I was in my teens and I so resonated with the material, not knowing (at least at a conscious level) that I was going to be a Jonathan Livingston Seagull. No wonder I’ve kept a copy ever since and brought it with me wherever else I found myself residing. It continues to be a valuable item in my personal library.

This is a story for people who follow their hearts and make their own rules…people who get special pleasure out of doing something well, even if only for themselves…people who know there’s more to this living than meets the eye: they’ll be right there with Jonathan, flying higher and faster than ever they dreamed.

“Most gulls don’t bother to learn more than the simplest facts of flight–how to get from shore to food and back again,” writes author Richard Bach in this allegory about a unique bird named Jonathan Livingston Seagull. “For most gulls it is not flying that matters, but eating. For this gull, though, it was not eating that mattered, but flight.” Flight is indeed the metaphor that makes the story soar. Ultimately this is a fable about the importance of seeking a higher purpose in life, even if your flock, tribe, or neighborhood finds your ambition threatening. (At one point our beloved gull is even banished from his flock.) By not compromising his higher vision, Jonathan gets the ultimate payoff: transcendence. Ultimately, he learns the meaning of love and kindness. The dreamy seagull photographs by Russell Munson provide just the right illustrations–although the overall packaging does seem a bit dated (keep in mind that it was first published in 1970). Nonetheless, this is a spirituality classic, and an especially engaging parable for adolescents. –Gail Hudson (from www.amazon.com Review)

Jonathan Livingston Seagull:  A spirituality classic indeed!

To my fellow Jonathan Livingston Seagull‘s, let’s continue to follow our hearts and soar.  And let’s dare to be different and even risk being rejected by our tribe, flock, society — if that’s what it means to make a difference!

To Richard Bach, thank you so much for your inspiring work. Sending you Love & Light, Peace & Joy, Namaste.  You will be well and you are well!

# # #

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing, where I share my thoughts and reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...♥♥♥Nadine Marie♥♥♥
This entry was posted in Books, Consciousness & Awareness, Healing, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Flight, not eating, is what matters to Jonathan Livingston Seagull

  1. Dear NadineMarie,
    I read JLS in my early 20s and absolutely loved it. Like you – little did I know it would be a JLS also. Blessings to Richard Bach and the subtle reminders he gave so many of us about who were we before we knew ourselves.
    Brenda

    Like

  2. Thank you for this beautiful post with the reminder to soar! I still have the copy that I carried with me constantly in my teens and re-read hundreds of times, like you – knowing I was JLS 🙂
    I had not realized about Mr. Bach’s accident and I thank you for passing that on as I can now include his health and well-being in my prayers and meditation time.
    Many hugs of gratitude to you dear one!
    Gina

    Like

    • Oh you’re welcome my dear :-). Yes, I remember you and I had this conversation about JLS a while back! I was in fact looking for that post but couldn’t find it — not sure if it was yours or mine. I remembered you right away Gina when I heard about this news as I knew you’d be saddened by it as well. I’m glad you came to know about his condition through this post! Thank you fellow JLS for dropping by and sharing your reflections! Much blessings…namaste! ~NM

      Like

  3. Thank you Nadine…I have heard of this book many times over the years, but never read it. I will now.
    Jonathan

    Like

    • You’re most welcome Jonathan. I’d love to hear your reflections after reading the book. Maybe through your post or dropping by here again to share your thoughts. Or not —whatever you’re up to. I’m glad this post nudged you to be given the chance to be touched by such an inspirational classic. 🙂 Thank you fellow JLS for reading and sharing your thoughts. Much blessings to you Jonathan, Love & Light, Peace & Joy, Keep Soaring, Namaste…NM

      Like

  4. gomakedifference02 says:

    i feel like soaring and be free.. thanks to that story and your reflection. 😉

    Like

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

