The Path Less Travelled

Ever since I embraced the path of self-awareness and conscious creation, I have lost countless friends and loved ones.  My strong desire to instigate change (in myself as well as others), my relentless attempt to challenge the status quo, questioning why things are how “bad” they are and why or how can they be another (“better”) way, just make a lot of people very uncomfortable, quite understandably.

Unknowingly, they resist any efforts for reform, to change, to grow, to break unhealthy habits and patterns, to heal.  They get into defense mode. 

The problem with you is you’re too honest.  You need to learn to accept people and situations, otherwise, you’ll really be affected.  This [the Philippines] isn’t the U.S. — this is Third World.  If you can’t stand it, then leave.  You should go to (name of another country/place that’s supposedly “worse off” or “more backward” than the Philippines) so you can appreciate Manila.  You cannot expect people to think like you or agree with you — we’re all different.  You’re just too much of a perfectionist and idealist — you have to learn to lower your standards.  You’ve always had this tendency to want to save the world — you can’t.  The list of comments and reactions goes on……

I’m not necessarily negating the validity of their suggestions or responses.  There’s a reason for everything and there are reasons why things, people, places are the way they are. 

But to turn the reasons into excuses for not striving for excellence is only truly a defense mechanism.  It’s a resistance.  Rather than face the mirror and think of how we can improve and make the world a better place to live in, or make ourselves better human beings or come closer to Source, people would rather be in their comfort zone. 

But people don’t know that.  They’re not aware of it.  They’re not even aware that they’re not aware!

Not taking a step back and doing self-inquiry is like having a headache and automatically taking a headache pill.  It temporarily gets rid of the migraine but it’s not addressing the emotional issue that’s causing it.  Before long, you get another migraine attack.  Until it gets chronic.  And then it affects the rest of your entire system, and you experience all sorts of aches and pains.  They don’t know that there are other solutions that can truly address the migraine issue other than merely taking a pill.

But we all are where we need to be.  Much as I want other people to honor where I’m at and what my sentiments are, I am likewise doing the same to them.

I am reminding myself that I cannot expect a 4th or even 5th dimensional level of  response, mentality and support from a 3D consciousness level.  Otherwise, that’s really setting myself up for frustration.

Being a change agent isn’t a walk in the park.  It is after all the path less travelled.  And I’ve chosen it and I’ve come this far.  And it isn’t a popularity contest.  Never was, never will be.  In fact, it’s quite the opposite. 

Yet there’s no turning back.  The road to recovery and conscious evolution takes only one direction:  forward and onward. 

Image by shaire productions flickr.com

The challenge and the lesson is to draw as deep as I can from my well-spring of compassion, and extend that to everyone. We’re all learning our earthly lessons. We’re operating from different dimensions of reality and having different levels of awareness. We’re at various stages in our awakening process.

In The 11 Karmic Spaces: Choosing Freedom From The Patterns That Bind You by Ma Jaya Sati Bhagavati, Jean Houston, American author and philosopher and one of the pioneers of the human potentials movement, shared in the foreword a wonderful Sufi teaching story:

“A man was brokenhearted by all the suffering and sorrow he saw in the world. He sat by the roadside and began to beat the earth. He looked up and yelled at God, ‘Look at this mess. Look at all this pain. Look at all this killing and hatred. God, Oh God, why don’t you DO something!?’ And God said, ‘I did do something. I sent you.’”

Yes God, please help me and guide me to continue to do what I’ve come here to do. 

Reference

Bhagavati, M.J. (2010).  The 11 karmic spaces: Choosing freedom from the patterns that bind you

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2012 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Books, Consciousness & Awareness, Healing, Health & Wellness, Inspiration, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Path Less Travelled

  1. Yamyah says:

    “Ever since I embraced the path of self-awareness and conscious creation, I have lost countless friends and loved ones. ” “Unknowingly, they resist any efforts for reform, to change, to grow, to break unhealthy habits and patterns, to heal. They get into defense mode. ” Yes…i’ve just started to fully accept everyone is where they should be. If i didnt accept this and their place right now, i’d be resisting as much as them. Love this post, thank You for understanding ♥

    Like

    • Thanks Yamyah! It’s encouraging when someone resonates with what I’m writing and sharing. It also encourages me on this path less travelled. Thanks for the support and leaving a note! Much blessings to you, love & light, namaste….♥NM

      Like

  2. Noel says:

    Nadinemarie33, I can understand where you are coming from. It is so true that there is so much we can learn and grow, but most people choose not to, and criticize those of us who dare to think differently. Jesus called it “the narrow path”, Your post simply describes it beautifully “the Path Less Traveled”. Yet you are not alone. We are all in this together.

    Like

    • Oh thank you Noel for the kind words and support! Much appreciated and I’m taking it all in….Often I feel more connected with the virtual/cyber community than where I’m at geographically. But it is part of my journey….Again, thanks for the validation! Much blessings, namaste….♥NM

      Like

  3. Good for you for living a life of integrity, which is better to be had than friendships. And new and more like-minded friends who share your high-minded values will result.

    Like

    • Thanks Rev. Paul! When I was composing this post, I wanted to add, “Were these people really my friends to begin with?” But lest I get into the judgment cycle, I look at it that they were in my life when my vibration matched theirs. I’ve now evolved into another phase and we simply outgrew each other. And yes, unless I let some passengers get off the bus, I will not be able to welcome new passengers to share the ride with me. Your visits and comments are much appreciated. Blessings, love & light, namaste….♥NM

      Like

  4. Pingback: Apathy – The silent killer | Aligning With Truth

  5. lauriesnotes says:

    I love this. I am carrying on – a part of me a little more gently. I appreciate your sharing.
    Much love-
    Laurie

    Like

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

