GENEROSITY

The thought for today is GENEROSITY.

Mother Teresa said, “There is a hidden poverty more pervasive than lack of money. It is the poverty of the heart.”

Look at ways you can contribute to your family, friends and community through your generosity. You will see how your generous gift comes back to you.

The more generous you are today, the more generosity you will have tomorrow. The more love you give, the more loving you become. The more generous you become, the less need to defend what you have, the greater your capacity for nonviolence.

We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give.”
Sir Winston Churchill, British Statesman, Prime Minister, Author, Nobel Prize Winner (1874-1965)

Generosity is giving without being asked or required.  With the ever-pervasive materialism in our world, generous people are often thought of as those who donate their money to charity.   

Yet how many of these donors truly give from the depth of their heart and stirring of their soul?  How many of them share their wealth without expecting to be acknowledged?  How many of them donate in order to impress others, for popularity, to gain approval or votes?

I knew a couple who has been setting aside a considerable percentage of their family business’ income for scholarship funds.  They’ve been paying for the education of numerous Filipino children from poor families. It sure is a noble and admirable act. 

In one of our conversations, the wife disclosed to me, with the voice of confidence bordering arrogance, a trait that is so characteristic of her I must add, “When the time comes when we are the ones in need, one of these scholars had better not hesitate to help us the way we have been generous in extending our help to them.” I was surprised, almost shocked!  And I was speechless.  I cringed and I was truly disappointed.  But it’s not uncommon. 

The giving ends in the giving.  

People who contribute a huge amount of their income to church through tithing are also viewed as being generous. The concept of tithing is something that I struggled with for the longest time.  Somehow it didn’t sit very well with me to be required to give 10% of my income.  Until I learned and realized that there are numerous ways that we can tithe. 

We can contribute our time, talents, services, vehicles for those who need transportation, and our other resources which others may have the need for.  Tithing through money is only one way, but it’s not the only way. 

And when we give other than money, when we give freely and do so only because we want to, only with the purest of intention and not for anything else, and with much discretion, we are so much more generous than those who donate their millions, even if they’re hard-earned.

Today: I will find three ways to give generously of my time, talent and resources to others. I will create a ‘Gift Certificate’ for someone.

64 Ways in 64 Days Nonviolence Daily Reflections Day 27 – Feb. 25, 2012

From The 15th Annual Gandhi-King Season for Nonviolence Jan. 30 to Apr. 4, 2012

Image by Black Betty Designs flickr.com

 

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2012 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Consciousness & Awareness, Healing, Health & Wellness, Inspiration, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

