Do heaven and hell exist?

Image by plasticpumpkin flickr.com

A Japanese warrior approached a Zen master to request answers to some questions that had been troubling him.

“What is it you want to know?” queried the Zen master.

“Tell me, sir, do heaven and hell exist?”

“Ha!” snorted the Zen master in a tone that was half-laugh, half-sneer.  “What makes you think that you could understand such things?   You are only an uneducated, brutish soldier.  Don’t waste my time with your silly questions.”

For an instant the warrior froze in shock.  No one, but no one, ever spoke to a Japanese warrior like that.  It meant instant death.  “Are you too stupid to understand what I said?”  roared the Zen master.  “Stop wasting my time and get out of here.”

The warrior exploded with rage.  His hand flew like lightning to his sword and swept it aloft for the kill.  But in the split second before the sword descended to crush the monk’s skull, he heard the words:

“This is the gate to hell.”

Again the warrior froze in astonishment.  His own rage brought hell to him and those he attacked.  And the master had risked his life to make this fact inescapably clear.  Breathing deeply, he slowly replaced his sword and bowed humbly in awe and respect.

“And this,” smiled the Zen master, “is the gate to heaven.”

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2012 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing, where I share my thoughts and reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...♥♥♥Nadine Marie♥♥♥
This entry was posted in Consciousness & Awareness, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do heaven and hell exist?

  1. rhcwilliams says:

    Nadinemarie,

    This is wonderful. I want to re-post it on my blog, so need to give credit where it’s due – did you write it, or is it a traditional tale? Thanks for this deep wisdom today.

    Peace & Blessings,

    Ruth (Ruth Williams’ Blog)

    Like

    • Oh, I didn’t write this Ruth. It’s from one of Paul Ferrini’s books — not sure if it’s a traditional tale or his original work. Let me check my sources and make sure proper credit is given. Thanks for this note as it reminded me of something very important that I overlooked. Blessings & Namaste…~N

      Like

  2. Noel says:

    Amazing! It is so true!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Deep Wisdom du Jour « Ruth Williams' Blog

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

