A decades-long wounding has come up for my healing

(This is a continuation of my previous post, Paradoxical Celebration.)

The straw that broke the camel’s back

Over the weekend, to my dismay, I was awoken (again) by a very loud noise at one o’clock in the morning. There’s ongoing work at the construction project at the school next door.  This disturbance has been happening and has gotten worse since November 2011.

I reached the end of my rope.

No.  No more.  Enough.

I decided then that I was going to take action. I can no longer rely only on the efforts of our residential complex management and security team, or on my countless personal pleas to one of the nuns.

Yesterday, I wrote and sent a letter to the school directress and their provincial superior, the nun to whom all the schools, ministries and nuns of the congregation in the Philippines report.  I expressed my disappointment and frustration.

As I wrote in my letter, I’m thankful that I’ve learned the value of respect and consideration for others, partly through the education I received.  I have abided by the golden rule, “Do unto others what you want others to do unto you.” I also know that one of the Ten Commandments says, “Remember the Sabbath day to keep it holy.

Why is it then that, with these incidents pertaining to the construction project at the school, what I’d been taught have gone out the window?

Immediately after I sent the letter, something deep-rooted was released from my system. Major healing has surely taken place. I felt so empowered and relieved.

Rather than dwell on my disappointment with the concerned nuns’ (ill) behavior and (mis)action (or lack thereof), I’m now focusing on myself, my journey, and what I’m learning from this. I’m focusing on how I am growing.

Our teachers, our messengers and our lessons come in all shapes and forms

These nuns were my teachers in school in the traditional sense. With this recent incident, they continue to be my teachers. However, they are teaching me now how to love myself, how to say no to what is not loving, how to be treated respectfully, and how to practice forgiveness and extend compassion — to myself and to others, including them.

I’m sure that at some subconscious level, this incident has come up to the surface and I’ve brought it to my conscious awareness because healing needed to take place. Without meaning to sound sarcastic, I am in fact grateful that this incident happened and the concerned nuns (mis)behaved accordingly because it paved the way for my healing and to feel empowered.

Interestingly, but not surprisingly, the energies of the new moon in Aquarius in January 23 have also influenced this. As I wrote in my post, New Moon in Aquarius, January 23 – the first new moon in 2012,

“…the house that Aquarius is in our birth chart/natal chart is how the new moon affects us on a personal level. The issues associated with that house are going to be the most affected by this New Moon’s presence. It is where you need to reform old concepts and ideas about the areas of that house.

For example, if Aquarius is in your third house, the house of communication, [which is in my case], this is the best time to make wishes or start something new around communication such as speaking, writing, ….. It is also the house of siblings and environment so wishes or starting something new may be around the areas of how you interact with your environment, your neighbours and siblings, school, your neighborhood, your workplace, trading, getting around town, trips and visits.”

So the energies of this month’s new moon have ushered in a new way for me to relate to my neighbors and neighborhood and take a more active role and be more involved.

Our teachers, our messengers and our lessons come in all shapes and forms. The opportunities to grow and to learn are limitless. It’s up to each one of us to pay attention and grab the opportunity. And then we can turn something stressful and agonizing, such as the unholy and ungodly hours of the construction project, into a blessing, such as the healing of a deep-seated wound and mastering a lesson.

My personal celebration

I was once active in school reunions and other related activities.  But for quite sometime, I have chosen to not participate anymore as I no longer resonate with those kinds of activities. (See related article, Of get-togethers and reunions)

Today, I may not be part of the thousands of students, alumni, teachers and nuns, friends and families who are joining in the grand celebration of the centennial anniversary of our school.

But in my solitude and in the confines of my inner sanctuary, I am quietly yet joyously celebrating the healing of a wounding from my “sweet days of girlhood”, and mastering a lesson — a lesson that no school, no school teacher, no school authority can effectively teach, but one that can only be learned and mastered through life experiences, outside the four walls of a classroom.

May we all be healed from our childhood wounds and other wounds of the past, at the individual and collective levels.  May light be shed upon this situation and may the words and actions that are needed to resolve it be guided only by our Divine consciousness.

And may St. Paul, the patron saint of the school whose feast day is being celebrated today, intercede and intervene.

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2012 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About NadineMarie (Aligning With Truth)

I find much joy & fulfillment in sharing my experiences & insights through writing & blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing where I share my thoughts & reflections, as well as the tools & resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening & coming home to the Self. As I live in joy & align with Truth, I AM shining my Light which is how I contribute to the planetary & humanity ascension. Blessed be. Namaste...💗💖💜Nadine Marie💜💖💗
This entry was posted in Affirmations & Prayers, Consciousness & Awareness, Healing, Holidays & Festivals, Relationships, Spirituality, Womanhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

