Learning and Mastering Lessons – What’s the Difference?

I am now at the end of my stay here on the island of Siquijor. A couple of days ago, I moved out of the cottage where I stayed for five months, the last three of which have been the most gruelling, that I shake my head in disbelief and heave out heavy sighs, as I recall the unbelievable incidents leading up to my eventual decision to finally move out.

I’m still gathering my thoughts, reflections and insights. I’m spending my last days on the island de-stressing and integrating my experiences which have been tremendous growth opportunities once again. It’s been quite a ride and what a journey it has been!

As with all my island explorations in the past three years, as I manifest my geographical island home on Earth, my lessons continue to show up. Same lessons. Same learning. The pattern continues. Recurring theme.

Self-assertion. Setting boundaries. Expressing myself. Speaking my truth. Valuing myself. Respect. Compassion. Self-worth. Self-love. Being seen and heard. Being a maverick. Embracing all of me, my strengths and weaknesses, my uniqueness, quirks and eccentricities, including and especially my being highly sensitive — without being defensive about it, without the need for any justification or the need to be accepted, approved or understood, and facing and overcoming any fears associated with it.

So why is this happening again? Why am I having similar experiences? Why the same theme and pattern? What did I not learn in and from the past that it’s showing up again? When will I ever learn? When will the pattern stop? How can I stop it? Completely, truly and fully. What did I do? What did I not do?

Even before I finally decided that my time is up on this island, these questions have already been reverberating in my head.

I really, really, really want to get it. I really, really, really want to learn my lessons and move on. I really, really, really want to stop the pattern and start a new one.

Why then did I attract the same situations? Why are the experiences similar? Why are the energies so familiar? Were the signs, the warning signs already shown to me but I simply ignored them? Why? Did I misinterpret the signs? What did I miss out on? What did I not get? What did I forget?

And before I begin to succeed in beating myself up unnecessarily, I come across this Facebook post from The Return of the Divine Feminine page. A very timely reminder and answer indeed. And the part that speaks to me so clearly says,

When we experience negative encounters it is not about blaming anyone or the self, it is more about understanding the law of attraction. When we experience adversity it invites us to go deep within and strengthen aspects of ourselves that need to be strengthened and it allows transformation.

It doesn’t mean negative experiences cease after that, it just means that we are more fully equipped to respond in a way that allows for more protection and empowerment, because our Spirit nature is the most threatening thing to anything that wishes to use and abuse. “

Aha!

I may be encountering the same experiences. The difference is how I respond to them.

And that’s what I’m doing differently this time. That’s what’s changing. It’s how I’m breaking the pattern and starting a new one.

By shifting the way I respond.

The energies of the people, places, situations, interactions — they may be the same but I am attracting them precisely in order to give me the opportunity to in fact break the pattern. To break the unhealthy, destructive, disempowered behavioral pattern with which I had been responding.

Now, I am responding differently. Choosing differently. Acting differently. More wisely and empowered. More lovingly. More divinely.

I am being a victor rather than a victim.

I learn my lesson at the intellectual level; To master it is to embody it and live it.

So I have indeed learned my lessons. I am now simply embodying them.

I am simply living them.

Breathing them.

Being them.

Related articles and links:

# # #

Copyright © 2011-2013 Nadine Marie V. Niguidula, M.A. and Aligning With Truth

About AligningWithTruth

I find joy in sharing my experiences and insights through writing and blogging. I created the site, ALIGNING WITH TRUTH as a virtual center for healing, where I share my thoughts and reflections, as well as the tools and resources that are helping me as I move along the path of awakening and coming home to the Self. As I live in joy and align with truth, I am shining my light and in doing so, contributing to the planetary and humanity ascension. Much Blessings, Be Light, Namaste...♥♥♥Nadine Marie♥♥♥
This entry was posted in Consciousness & Awareness, Healing, Spirituality, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Learning and Mastering Lessons – What’s the Difference?

  1. Great post, wonder work on self mastery, very big thank you for sharing your own insights, sincere regards, Barry

    • You’re most welcome Barry. ☀ My pleasure and thank you for appreciating my work. :-) And especially coming from an author of a self-help book, that means a lot to me. Much blessings…Namaste…♥♥♥NadineMarie♥♥♥

  2. Pingback: Making Peace With the Community Within | Aligning With Truth

  3. Pingback: Coming Home to My Inner Family | Aligning With Truth

  4. Pingback: “George Clooney Has Yet To Meet the Love Of His Life” & Dreaming About Him | Aligning With Truth

  5. Pingback: “This is your garbage; Deal with it!” | Aligning With Truth

Any thoughts or feelings while Aligning With Truth?

